We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay ... Low Rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1784 N Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Dover
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Stay ... Low Rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a great experience at this hotel... Great Breakfast, Great Workers, Great Room, and BEST OF ALL!!! Great RATE!!! Will be back Soon... !!! I plan to atleast come back in the summer time when the pool is open :)

Room Tip: Try a room with a Jacuzzi in it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiakramedas, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We can not thank you enough for your Excellent rating of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel features! We are glad you found the breakfast, staff and the rates favorable to your needs! We hope to see you again this summer during your visit back! The pool is waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
14
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My Family Came thru and stopped here for the holidays, The front desk agent was very friendly at check-in. The Studio Suite was huge--much bigger than most Sleep Inn's I've stayed. The room was very clean and well kept (I asked how new the hotel was, as it appeared very new). The breakfast was standard Sleep Inn breakfast-lots of options.
Will definitely stay again as it's a great halfway point between home and NYC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiakramedas, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks from our Sleep Inn staff to you for the review of our hotel. We're delighted to know we met all of your expectations. Our staff takes great pride in the fact that you enjoyed our breakfast, cleanliness and room size. We hope that you will again choose us when visiting Dover, Delaware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed one night in December. Very nice room, very clean bathroom. Friendly front desk personnel. Updated decor. Good little breakfast, complimentary, in the morning. Waffles, eggs, sausage, French toast, oatmeal, and such. I left my camera in the room, notified them, and got a call back when housekeeping found it. Fortunately I was still close by to return for it. Inn is very close to shopping and Dover Downs casino. No complaint, only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was because the 2 sofas near the elevator were in dire need of replacing, and wi-fi was a little hard to pick up on the 3rd floor. It was fine in the breakfast room. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I always like the top floor rooms, but was having intermittent trouble with the wi-fi signal, so may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiakramedas, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the guest room to be nice as well as the bathroom being clean. We appreciate your concern for the sofa located next to the elevator and we will address it promptly. We are happy yo hear that you were able to retreat the camera and we pride oursleves in helping our guests in those situations. If in the future you do visit Dover, Delaware, we hope that you will choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Dover is a convenient place for us to stop on our way to FL. This was the second year we stayed here. The room was small but clean. Beds were comfortable but linens and towels were very rough. Breakfast selection was good and the young woman who took care of the place was efficient and friendly. My only suggestion would be to have the rugs cleaned in the hallways.
The rug in our room could use spot cleaning too. But overall it is a decent place for a one night stop.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiakramedas, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay. We apologize that you found the towels and linens to rough. We will look into this and work with Laundry to see if we can make them as soft as possible. Since your stay we are happy to report that we have had the common area rug cleaned. We are glad that you found the breakfast attendant to be freindly. Here are the Sleep Inn, we practice our strong customer service skills on a daily basis. We hope that you will again choose the Sleep Inn when visiting Dover in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We selected this property because it was inexpensive, got fairly good reviews and was in a good location for us to stop enroute to Williamsburg. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and everyone behind the desk was very helpful. We went to a lovely restaurant upon the recommendation of the staff. However, the refrigerator in the room buzzed terribly all night long, and the cooling system rattled whenever it was on allowing for no sleep at all. Being a person who can't block sounds very well, this did not bode well with me. The breakfast in the morning was better than most---more choices and the breakfast room was quite lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiakramedas, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It is the Sleep Inn’s intent to provide excellent service and hospitality to our guests, and not only meet, but also to exceed our guest’s expectations. A guest’s comments are always very important to us as they let us know how we measured up to their expectations. The in room refrigerator and the cooling system is certainly a matter that will be looked into. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy th Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast the next morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spent 2 nights here in early September, 2012. The room was good for the money, spacious and clean and the hotel was convenient to an exit onto Rt. 1, the main N-S throughway. The free breakfast was fine, too. That would make a rating of about 4, but the excellent staff moved the rating up to 5. In particular I stupidly left a pair of pants and a belt in the room and, when I called from home, they had found them, requesting a prepaid box to be mailed to them. I found a flat-rate box at the post office and had it stamped, as the woman at the post office suggested, them mailed that to them. However, when the hotel handed the filled box to the mailman who came by he took it, then returned it with a note that it had to be delivered by hand to the post office. After the hotel called me and we discussed it they agreed to make a special trip to the post office in Dover to mail it. This they did, it went out, I got it, and am really appreciative that they took the extra time to make a special trip and stand in line on their own time-and-dime at the post office to get it to me. Thank you, guys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiakramedas, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent rating in feedback. At the Sleep Inn, customer satisfaction is number one. We are happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond in making sure you recieved your left items and that they were returned to you safely. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed the Free Breakfast as well as the location of the hotel. We hope that you stay again at the Sleep Inn Dover in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

hotel staff friendly ,room ok ,bathroom need more care, !! but during day you can see emploee people, or friends from outside hanging up in lobby , have nothing to do,try to kill time with bla,bla !! or used lobby comp. Also during hot summer days a small pool were ocupated by people from outside be not hotel guest ,probably relativ or friends to emploee ,Easy and unlimited acces to pool from street is not control by hotel staff and everyone from street can enjoy swimming making for real guest uncomfortable situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiakramedas, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is a vital part of our success and we value all the feedback we receive from our guests. We will look into the situation you described and make sure that our pool is only being utilized by hotel guests only. We are located off of a main highway, but far back enough to avoid having non hotel guests use the pool. We do apologize for this and will address it immediately. We hope aside from this you enjoyed your stay as well as the amenities that the hotel features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 1784 N Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located near several area attractions and local points of interest. This Dover, DE hotel is minutes away from Dover Downs casino and racetrack, Dover International Speedway, Dover Air Force Base, Dover Archaeology Museum and Delaware State University. Guests of this Dover, DE hotel are invited to enjoy amenities like:• Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast• Free wireless high-speed Internet access• Free local calls• Seasonal outdoor pool• Exercise room. All of our guest rooms are beautifully decorated and come equipped with coffee makers and free coffee, spacious work desks, hair dryers, voice mail, safes and cable television. Ask about our rooms that include microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. We are a pet-friendly hotel; additional fees apply. For added convenience, we offer coin-operated laundry facilities. Ample parking is available for cars, trucks and buses.When you are traveling to the Dover area, make the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel your home away from home. Our friendly staff and inviting accommodations await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.