We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midwestern delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonic Drive-In

Sonic Drive-In
1481 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE
(302) 730-4290
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 175 Restaurants in Dover
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dover, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Midwestern delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Being from Kansas, where there are 165 Sonic Drive-Ins'...and having NONE in Delaware when we moved here 11 years ago, my kids were very disappointed! sO..when the first Delaware Sonic opened in Bridgeville, we had to go for opening night! The Dover Sonic always gets the order right. I have never had a time when I ordered something and it came out wrong. And...the ice cream takes just like my Aunt Erm made when I was a kid. Delightfully Americana.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good eattings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I don't have a Sonic here in MD were I live, so that was my first visit. I really liked the toppings I had on my hot dog, it really gave the dog a different kick. I had a slushy (pineapple) it was real.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landover Hills, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Double Sonic Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Thought it would be too much but I downed it...delicious!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

the onion rings were greasy, and I usually do not think Sonic's onion rings are greasy. The girl at the drive-in window did not include any condiments or even ask if I wanted any. I had already left the parking lot when I discovered this.....

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sonic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Fun Drive in Experience, great ice cream treats on a hot day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonic Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonic Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.