We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on the island of Samos !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella

Stella
Balos Beach, Ormos Koumeikon, Greece
+30 6947535325
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hanko, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food on the island of Samos !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Idyllic setting, super-friendly service by the charming hosts, honest and fresh food cooked to perfection, budget-friendly,.... it's simply the best restaurant on the whole island, and a breath of fresh air when compared to the many overcrowded bayside restaurants with annoying "proppers" by the door, trying to lure you in for often just mediocre food.

When going to Stella's, just ask them to surprise you, and enjoy the little marvels that will appear on your table! Grilled Halloumi cheese with a fresh salad, oven potatoes with feta melted on top, tender lamb freshly cooked in the stone oven.... You will not be disappointed !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb 'new' Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Kyriakos is as friendly as his mother Stella Always has been. He tries new combinations with traditional Greek ingredients. Superb food and a wonderful location! Don't leave Samos before you tried this restaurant

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurant Casandre Calangute Goa India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A pearl of best fresh greek/cypriot cooking and hospitality expirience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

In have been here many times over the last years. They never let you down on quality and hospitality. Fresh dayly home-cooked meals from the woodoven , the best quality availeble and a wonderfull garden on the end off the road on the left site of Ballos [ sea facing ]. Yust follow the lidgts and the path and the garden of "Eden" is there. Were you will be wellcomed by Kyriakos and his mum STELLA !!!!!!!!! Great good fantastic and for sure you will come back !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We saw this ón Tripadvisor, and planned our trip to Stella When we rented 4 wheels. Drove The Way from Pythagorien to Balos and Stella for lunch.
At 14:30 we and another couple were The only guests in the garden. The son (waiter and Cook) with experience from etc. Germany, introduced us and asked what we would like today, NO MENUCARD. We had a Nice tzatiki with the mothers (cook) homemade bread from 5:00 in The morning, and grilled Shrimps for me, and a chicken salad with feta for my partner.
Perfectly cooked and combined with an excellent choice of vegetables and salad, lemon and balsamico and more.
Not difficult food, but good quality and a taste of great cooking skills.
To finish with, we had some sweet grapes in a sirup.
Had a glass of local White vine, and finally served in a REAL Wine glas. Not like other places where they fill the small thick glasses to the Edge. (YES!)

We have tried the other good recommended restaurants at Samos, by using tripadvisor, but this was DEFINATELY the Best place at Samos.

Excellent service, great food and a charming little place close to Balos Beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A unique place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you stay in Balos,you really must try Stellas.We have holidayed in Greece for many years,& this is the best food & service we have ever experienced.There is no menu here,Stellas son Kyriakos spends time with you discussing what is available,& finding out what your tastes are.He then produces an amazing standard of food,that you would not expect in a small taverna.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella also viewed

 
Marathokampos, Samos
 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.