We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden best restaurant in Ballos south Samos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella

Stella
Balos Beach, Ormos Koumeikon, Greece
+30 6947535325
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
restaurant Casandre Calangute Goa India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“hidden best restaurant in Ballos south Samos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

lovely food and great hospitality in a super greek setting , just do not change a thing good is good

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have been coming to Balos for four years now. The first time I visited Stella's I was a little unsure about it, as there was no menu and they specialise in oven-roasted meats and I am virtually vegetarian. However, it turns out that Kyriakos (Stella's son/waiter/assistant chef) is the talking menu! The menu changes daily depending on what is available. The fish is caught, not farmed, and the vegetables are mostly grown in Nico's garden, as are all the herbs.
Although I love visiting Greece, I do get a little bored with greek food after a while. Stella's cuisine is Cypriot - similar to Greek but more subtle and refined. Good fresh ingredients cooked simply. And did I mention the herbs?

Every year, they try to come up with new and interesting vegetarian and fish dishes for me. The Cypriot salad is beautiful and the side dishes of fried courgettes and aubergines are superb. This year I had vegetarian moussaka and have been promised courgette flowers stuffed with shrimp meat next year. Kyriakos and Stella are always trying to come up with something different.
Stella, Nico and Kyriakos are very welcoming too - you feel like a member of the family. I look forward to coming back next year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Loved the simplicity. No menu. The waiter just tells you what the have on the menu. No prices. He told us most things were between 8 10 euros but if they went beyond this he would come and tell us. Gave us complementary ouzo and dessert. Food was amazing ....... Sea Bream to die for and the most delicious baked cheeses. Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Greece at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

No menu and the owners talk you through the availability, lots from the oven and their own garden. We ate there every other day. As a vegetarian I was able to put in requests, I had stuffed vegetables one night and the often requested spinach pie which they made me. My wife loved all the meat dishes and you couldn't fault the service and the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant on Samos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We have just spent one week in Samos and found this fantastic little garden restaurant in Balos Beach, a little village belonging to Koumeika, 10-15 minutes drive from Voutsalakia.

We were told that the Antoniou family has been running this restaurant since 1987. The restaurant is named after Stella, the mother and cook of the restaurant. Service is done by the son, Kyriakos, which speaks English and German, so there should not be any communication problems. The father, Nikos, is in charge of the garden and always has a friendly chat with his clients.

It is a very cute garden restaurant and you sit under old olive and lemon trees. It is great for a romantic dinner or just for a quick lunch. The only problem is finding it. The sons owner gave us the following directions: it's the restaurant after the last restaurant! But there is a sign, so do not give up, go and find this great restaurant.

But lets speak of the the most important things...food! This restaurant is absolutely fantastic. Most of the food is cooked in the traditional Cypriot oven. Goat, Lamp, Beef, Chicken and the freshest sea food I had during our trip, some of it self fished. All the vegetables are from their own garden, grown organically and you can taste it. The lemons grow on trees around you. You can see Stella running in the garden after each order to pick the needed vegetables. She is always happy to explain what exactly she is growing.

They do not have a menu, since different foods are cooked every day. If you have a favorite, it might not be there tomorrow, but you can ask if they can make it for you again the next day. They are happy to please, but make no compromise in quality.

Prices are low to medium which is very surprising seeing the quality and service that you are offered.

You have to try their Cypriot salad, the homemade bread, their vegetarian dishes but please, please you need to ask what sea food is on the menu. My absolute favorites were slow roasted goat, filled zucchini flowers, slow cooked beef, Sepia in wine sauce and the lobster was out of this world. This is a place for real, honest, fresh and organic food. What else do you want from a restaurant?

Or as the son, Kyriakos, used to say: All the money!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella also viewed

 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.