We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GOOD!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Dewey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House Dewey to your Saves list
Beach House Dewey
1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
“NOT GOOD!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived around 10 at night, our room was right next to the front desk area......The guys from the desk would come outside and smoke non stop, our whole room smelled horribly of the smoke. I barely lasted the night. I had to wash ALL of our belongings immediately after leaving to get rid of the odor. The floors were dirty also, rooms are old.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Fallowfield, Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would be nice to have a coffee pot in the room. Appreciated the early check in because room was ready. Over all room was clean, no problem with room service. A little weird office was closed at check out. Would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was aware that the Sand Palace went through a large renovation to bring the establishment up to date. It was definitely noticed and appreciated. The room was light and airy with the new sleek modern touches found in the decor. When I called to make my reservation, Mike was courteous and friendly. When I checked in the woman at the desk was just as friendly and helpful. I would DEFINITELY recommend the Beach House in Dewey to any of my friends that were looking for a hotel for the weekend!

Room Tip: A lot of hotels in Dewey do not supply a hair dryer in the room, you will definitely need to pack on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Thankfully we only stayed here one night. The walls were so thin, you can hear everything! Also, the hotel next door is a quarter of the price per night in off season end of October. For a few hundreds, you get no coffee maker, no iron and a horrible night's sleep. It does seem clean with new ikea accents.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed a total of 9 days at The Beach House this Oct.. Was very sad to have to go home. Motel is close to beach and great restaurants to eat. Motel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. If in doubt about where to eat, shop, or find any location you are looking for, the staff is very knowledgeable. A group of our friends were in many of the other rooms and we had a wonderful time !!!!! Made reservations for next year and am looking forward to another stay in Dewey Beach. I directed other friends to stay at this motel because the rates are so much better then where they were staying in Dewey. They were excited when they saw how much they saved. Rooms are large and clean.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a king room at Beach House Dewey for 3 nights with our 18 mo. old daughter the 2nd week in Sept. The location is excellent - great proximity to the beach. It's a very easy walk. Also, very close to restaurants and shops as well as downtown Rehoboth. Small eating area (table & 2 chairs) and a microfridge were a nice plus. It is decorated cute, but it was not very clean. The first night we were there I made the mistake of letting my daughter run around the room in her bare feet. After 5 min., the bottoms of her feet were black and so were mine. I don't think the floors have been mopped in months. I also noticed there were several fruit-flies in the room upon arriving. The 2nd day, my daughter was napping when housekeeping showed up. We sent them away because of this and they never came back. Ok, I can understand this, but I figured the next day we would get a decent cleaning. When we arrived back on the 3rd day a housekeeper had been there (and collected her tip), however, there were still crumbs on the floor from breakfast and the bathroom still had hairs all over the floor. So, no vacuuming or mopping. The bed was made, but the linens had not been changed as there was an identical stain on a pillowcase that was there when we first arrived. I also found several ants in the room. Not what you want when you have a young toddler running around and playing all over the floor. The walls are paper thin. We could hear every word our neighbors said as they argued late at night. There are no frills here - no hair-dryer, no coffee pot, no breakfast, no closets, no safes. They do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. A bit pricey for what it is. You might be better off spending less money and staying at an outdated-looking but most likely cleaner motel. We will not be returning here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like first like to sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. we want to assure you that our housekeeping department has been made aware of the cleanliness issues, and they will be addressed immediately.

We would also like to thank you for both giving us the opportunity to serve you and for following up your stay with a detailed review. We welcome all feedback (positive or negative) because it gives us a chance to improve and perfect our services so issues such as this never arise again.

Sincerely,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

Such a great experience! From Pat at the desk to the amazing veiw and hospitality. The decor in the rooms to the lights in the pool SOO beautiful!!! Anywhere we needed to go we didn't have to drive. I would defentily recommend Beach House if you stay in DEWEY BEACH, DE

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind remarks regarding the Beach House Dewey! We are very proud of our staff and our property, and it makes us our day when we hear from our guests about their positive experiences. We will definitely let Pat know about your complement.

Please return on your next Dewey Beach visit!

Best wishes,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Dewey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Dewey

Address: 1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership! Our newly renovated property is located oceanside and just steps away from the world famous Bottle and Cork music venue and bar. We offer free parking, Wi-Fi and every room is equipped with a small fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beach House Dewey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Palace Hotel Dewey Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Dewey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.