We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Overpriced!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Dewey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House Dewey to your Saves list
Beach House Dewey
1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
harrisburg, pa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Thankfully we only stayed here one night. The walls were so thin, you can hear everything! Also, the hotel next door is a quarter of the price per night in off season end of October. For a few hundreds, you get no coffee maker, no iron and a horrible night's sleep. It does seem clean with new ikea accents.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    20
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed a total of 9 days at The Beach House this Oct.. Was very sad to have to go home. Motel is close to beach and great restaurants to eat. Motel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. If in doubt about where to eat, shop, or find any location you are looking for, the staff is very knowledgeable. A group of our friends were in many of the other rooms and we had a wonderful time !!!!! Made reservations for next year and am looking forward to another stay in Dewey Beach. I directed other friends to stay at this motel because the rates are so much better then where they were staying in Dewey. They were excited when they saw how much they saved. Rooms are large and clean.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a king room at Beach House Dewey for 3 nights with our 18 mo. old daughter the 2nd week in Sept. The location is excellent - great proximity to the beach. It's a very easy walk. Also, very close to restaurants and shops as well as downtown Rehoboth. Small eating area (table & 2 chairs) and a microfridge were a nice plus. It is decorated cute, but it was not very clean. The first night we were there I made the mistake of letting my daughter run around the room in her bare feet. After 5 min., the bottoms of her feet were black and so were mine. I don't think the floors have been mopped in months. I also noticed there were several fruit-flies in the room upon arriving. The 2nd day, my daughter was napping when housekeeping showed up. We sent them away because of this and they never came back. Ok, I can understand this, but I figured the next day we would get a decent cleaning. When we arrived back on the 3rd day a housekeeper had been there (and collected her tip), however, there were still crumbs on the floor from breakfast and the bathroom still had hairs all over the floor. So, no vacuuming or mopping. The bed was made, but the linens had not been changed as there was an identical stain on a pillowcase that was there when we first arrived. I also found several ants in the room. Not what you want when you have a young toddler running around and playing all over the floor. The walls are paper thin. We could hear every word our neighbors said as they argued late at night. There are no frills here - no hair-dryer, no coffee pot, no breakfast, no closets, no safes. They do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. A bit pricey for what it is. You might be better off spending less money and staying at an outdated-looking but most likely cleaner motel. We will not be returning here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like first like to sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. we want to assure you that our housekeeping department has been made aware of the cleanliness issues, and they will be addressed immediately.

We would also like to thank you for both giving us the opportunity to serve you and for following up your stay with a detailed review. We welcome all feedback (positive or negative) because it gives us a chance to improve and perfect our services so issues such as this never arise again.

Sincerely,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Such a great experience! From Pat at the desk to the amazing veiw and hospitality. The decor in the rooms to the lights in the pool SOO beautiful!!! Anywhere we needed to go we didn't have to drive. I would defentily recommend Beach House if you stay in DEWEY BEACH, DE

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind remarks regarding the Beach House Dewey! We are very proud of our staff and our property, and it makes us our day when we hear from our guests about their positive experiences. We will definitely let Pat know about your complement.

Please return on your next Dewey Beach visit!

Best wishes,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms, nice people, great beachy ambience. The conscience of the soap and shampoo in the shower was a plus. Needed a little extra help and the manager Mike didn't hesitate to lend a hand. Will definatly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff is definitely one of our best assets, and we truly appreciate your recognition of their efforts. We can't wait for you to return!

Best,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I found $250 for a September weekend night a bit steep. The people are very nice that run this place. We got to our room and realized the walls were paper thin and we were next to a screaming infant. We asked to move and they moved us with no trouble. The room decor is very nice. It doesn't look that great from the outside but the rooms are adorable and nicely appointed. The people at the front desk were very kind. In the morning, my friend and i woke up with colds and felt like the fan/ AC unit was the culprit. We had no other reason that both of us would have a sudden onset of cold symptoms. It was nice location in that you can walk to the beach, restaurants, and bars, although be prepared to hear the bands in those bars playing so loud it feels like they are in your room with you.

Room Tip: ask for first floor, there are lots of stairs and no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed with my family during the long weekend and were dissapointed. For $330 dollars per night you expect at least a clean room... that was not the case. The drawers still had sand from the previous guests and the bathroom was not cleaned on a daily basis.
The hotel is located at a very noisy street and the other hotel guests were extremely noisy, talking loud very late at night.
The location is nice, close to the beach, and the manager was always helpful. The rooms are renovated.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Dewey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Dewey

Address: 1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership! Our newly renovated property is located oceanside and just steps away from the world famous Bottle and Cork music venue and bar. We offer free parking, Wi-Fi and every room is equipped with a small fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Beach House Dewey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Palace Hotel Dewey Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Dewey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.