We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about expectations...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Dewey

Save Saved
You added Beach House Dewey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach House Dewey
1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Dewey Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's all about expectations...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are going to rent a room in Dewey, it doesn't get much better than this. Don't expect a 4 star hotel, but do expect friendly service a nice clean room and a cute pool area. This is Dewey. It's going to get a little loud being situated on a strip of land, but there is definitely a noise ordinance that is reinforced heavily at night. The location is also loud, this being very convenient in the center of everything meaning bars that are playing music and people laughing and having fun. The rooms are refurbished nicely and are kept clean and simple. The flat screen tv was a nice touch but we didn't use it much as there is so much else to do outside. We DO wish they took dogs and won't be able to stay here with them when we come back.. Bummer. Definitely check it out and remember its a beach motel Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We made the unfortunate mistake of booking a summer weekend stay (2 nights) in early August at the Beach House in Dewey Beach, DE and wound up checking out and leaving town a day early. We are in part responsible for not having done adequate research on the party scene that is Dewey. The hotel is central and easily walkable to to the beach, local bars and restaurants, and the recent renovations are visible. However, it is so close (directly across the street) to one particular nightclub, Bottle & Cork, that the bass and drums of the cover bands may as well have come and setup their instruments IN our room for a live performance. The doors and walls are paper thin so if you're looking for a restful, quiet beach getaway do not even think of booking here. In addition to the pounding rock music, the Beach House is a magnet for frat-style bachelor party-types who loiter out by the pool, on the balconies and in the stairwells eating, yelling, belching, drinking and smoking only to leave their remains for you to find the next morning. Understandably a convenient and reliable beach getaway primarily for mid-Atlantic and east coast families, I can't even fathom why any non-frat type of people would consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go with the hotel's recommendation to be placed back in the more tucked away 'quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I decided on the Beach House Dewey based on its high ratings on Trip Advisor. The hotel itself is nice, but I was not crazy about the Dewey Beach area. Rehoboth Beach (the Boardwalk area) is much nicer.

The room did look just as it is pictured on the website and was modern and spacious. We had a king room with a microwave and mini fridge.There is a dresser, two night stands, and a bistro style table and chairs, and a flat screen hdtv. There is also an outlet for charging mobile devices. The room did not have a closet, and rooms don't come with their own iron and ironing board. An iron and ironing board are available at the front desk. It took us awhile to get it (because other guests had it and/or no one was in the lobby when we went to inquire). When we finally got it we ironed all of our clothes for the rest of the trip and then tried to neatly fold them and put them in the drawers.

The room was not as clean as it could have been. There were spider webs (and spiders) in the corners of the room and by the window. There are pull-down shades on the windows and there were dead fleas (or other bugs) on the shades. I am not sure how the bugs got there, but they were stuck and it was gross. I also noticed some stains on the floor. One looked like a soda had been spilled. There was also an old piece of gum stuck to the floor.

Housekeepers clean the rooms daily. They were great about making sure we had plenty of towels and making the bed. I don't know that the floor was ever swept of mopped while we were there (5 days) though.

If you are easily disturbed by noise, you may not want to stay here. There is a Rock & Roll bar across the street that gets very loud at night. I don't know why the city allows that level of noise. Fortunately, because of our room location, we did not hear too much of the noise. But, I imagine if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor facing the road, it is much worse.

The pool area is nice, but most (if not all) of the lounge chairs were broken (but covered by cushions so guests didn't realize the chairs were broken until they say down and fell through).
There are several tables and chairs by the pool where families would frequently hang out or eat. It was nice to have that option.

The hotel is 1/2 a block from the beach. The beach is nice, but crowded as this is a popular area. There are a lot of rules on the beach (no alcohol during certain hours, no animals during certain hours). I thought the rules were great and the beach seemed very family-oriented. There are lifeguards on the beach between 10 am - 5pm. A local restaurant also has a snack stand. Campfires are allowed on the beach in the evenings.

I wouldn't recommend going to Dewey Beach, but if you are, The Beach House Dewey is a good place to consider. It is right in the middle of everything. There are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance (but be careful, traffic is awful and even though it is state law, drivers don't like to stop for people waiting to cross). All things considered, it was a good value, especially when compared to other places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for over 10 years. We loved the new renovations. The rooms are nice and bright. The new beds are great. My wife loved the white bedding sets. The towels are all new and show no wear and tear. The fridge and microwave in the rooms are a big plus. The flat screen TV was very nice. The new bathroom was really nice and we always had great water pressure. The free coffee in the office was a big plus. There is an outside shower by the vending machines to wash your beach chairs and feet off. They have an ice machine to left of the stairs by the office. They have a nice pool to swim in or just sit around and get some sun and relax. The location is great. You have Wings to Go, DQ, Franco’s Pizza and Nicks for a good cheese steak that are about a minute or two walk away. There is a liquor store across the street and since you are on the ocean side you can leave your room and be on the beach and sitting in your chair in no time. Mike, Pat, Debbie and Angel at the front desk were all very helpful during our stay. Once you park your car after you arrive there really is no need to drive with the Jolly Trolley and taxi services available. Our room was well taken care of every day by the staff. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence Harbor, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

LOVED this area.......very walkable, fun town and this motel is perfectly located in the middle of everything. We spent our 6 night vacation here and were very happy with our choice. We arrived about noon on a Sunday, even though our room was not ready (didn't expect it to be) we were able to leave our car and just walk around, explore the area and get lunch. The staff is friendly & accomodating. Free coffee is available in the lobby. Rooms were recently renovated, I liked the clean , white look, decent sized, good air conditioning. Rooms have a fridge for drinks, microwave we didn't use, and a huge full length mirror (loved this) Bathroom was a good size, clean, good pressure in the shower.......plenty of good quality towels.
It can be loud with the club right across the street. Our room was right by the pool.......some mornings it was loud with small children screaming right outside our door.
We didn't realize there was an outdoor shower by the vending machines until later in the week. Nice way to clean the sand off your feet from the beach before coming into the room.
The location of this hotel is perfect..........easy walk to the beach, so MANY bars within a few blocks, many places to eat, catch the sunset on the bay across the street, Jolly Trolly stop to Rehoboth is right there. We left our car in the same spot for most of the week and just walked to most places.
The only downside was lack of a closet-we had to leave our shoes in the corner of the room. Limited posts on the wall to hang things.........but not a big deal

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would be away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location is fantastic. You really couldn't ask for anything better. We parked our car and walked everywhere we wanted to go. 1/2 block to the beach, several restaurants and a few little shops, and of course the bars all within a few minutes walk. The room was clean and modern. The lack of a closet was a little bit of a downside, but there were a few hooks (cute dog tail ones), so I could kind of hang things instead of having them folded in the dresser. Mini fridge and microwave were great!

The downside, we brought our small children with us so it wasn't my top choice of family friendly. The hotel was mostly college aged party-going people. The music from Bottle & Cork thumped our room (literally) until 1am, and then everyone came back and reveled outside for a while. Our room (103) was directly outside of the pool gate. We didn't even get to use it because everyone else was in it and my 4 year old didn't want to swim with the big people. No big deal, for that really, we came for the beach anyway.

We had dinner at Woody's down the street. Awesome.

All in all, I'd come back with just my husband or a group of friends, but we probably won't bring the kids back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the close proximity to the beach. The room was very modern and clean, but there was no closet to hang up our clothes. I would have preferred a room on the second or third floor since ours was right in front of the pool and picnic tables and you could see through the tinted windows into our room, so we had kept the shades drawn the whole time. Unfortunately, we were kept up til 3AM with the noise of the partiers outside our room and the very loud music from the club across the street. Just because the bars close at 1AM doesn't mean it quiets down. We spent the days on the beach in Dewey and the evenings in Rehoboth. We'd probably just stay in Rehoboth next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseManagement, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share details of your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the noise issue during your stay. As a new hotel, we are constantly looking for ways in which we can improve. Hopefully if you make a trip back to Dewey we can make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House Dewey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Dewey

Also Known As:
Sand Palace Hotel Dewey Beach
Sand Palace Hotel
Address: 1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership! Our newly renovated property is located oceanside and just steps away from the world famous Bottle and Cork music venue and bar. We offer free parking, Wi-Fi and every room is equipped with a small fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach House Dewey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Dewey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.