We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catchy name, friendly welcome, if a bit rough around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Esta Motels IV

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Esta Motels IV to your Saves list
Sea Esta Motels IV
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20902 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Catchy name, friendly welcome, if a bit rough around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

If I could give this 3.5/5 I would. 3 would be a bit harsh, but not quite good enough for a4. First off it would get 5 stars for welcome: it's always nice to be welcomed with a 'I was expecting you Mr x' makes a change from the anonymous chains- although note that reception closes at 9.

This is a traditional motel style affair, you access each room from outside.
I could tell it had be updated, it was nice and clean overall, sufficient space. Slightly lacked attention to detail, if you looked close enough some parts weren't clean, items left in drawers etc. I also wasn't given the wifi password and reception had closed by the time I realised. I could manage for one night, but may I suggest a password note given with the keys?

With no internet I switched on the TV- picture was a little fuzzy- still watchable, but not something I'd expect.
Coffee was provided but despite my best efforts I couldn't work out how to use the machine, so ended up brewing manually.
Fridge/ iron / microwave unused. AC unit old but did the job. Shower adequate. Bed was comfy so no complaints there.
A shame no breakfast was supplied, it's always good to grab a bite, and there was traffic noise from outside. I would also avoid any of the rooms adjacent to the noisy lift mechanism, it was very loud.

Pity the room didn't live up to the friendly welcome, but it fitted the bill for an overnighter.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We picked this hotel for a girl's weekend because of it's convenient location. Not needing all "the frills", we were looking for nothing more than a place to rest "our tired bodies". From front desk staff to housekeeping, they were by far some of the friendliest I've experienced in all my traveling years. Rooms were clean and everything operating properly. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We had read a number of reviews about Sea Esta IV. We can only wonder if we were staying at the same property as some of the reviewers. We chose the Sea Esta IV as, at the time of booking, we had an older Greyhound who wasn't good on stairs and this hotel has an elevator.
After 12 hours on the road we pulled in to the parking lot and were met with a smile and a wave by Darren, the house keeper. He welcomed us and directed us to the office where Elizabeth greeted us by name. Realizing we were in for Greyhound week she waived the dog fees. A nice start.
We had a room on the 3rd floor (350). Darren offered to help us with our "stuff" but as we had our three Greyhounds with us it was just as easy to take things up ourselves. Every time we saw him he gave us a smile and a wave.
At some point this room has been a smoking room (slight burn on the furniture and faint smell in the room). This is an older property and I have to say that I was prepared for much less than we found! The room was fairly freshly painted and very clean. The bathroom seemed to have a newer shower insert and it too was very clean. Lots of clean, fresh towels as well as soap and shampoo. The microwave worked. The fridge worked. The AC did it's job but as noted by one other reviewer it was partially blocked by the bed closest to the window and the unit itself.
We logged effortlessly into the hotel wifi.
The shower was far better then some we've had in more expensive hotels.
During our 4 night stay nothing changed! Every day Darren came in and tidied the room, left fresh towels, soap and shampoo. As for the sheets..the bed was made every day. The sheets and comforters were clean when we arrived. We don't change our sheets at home every day so we don't worry about using the same sheets in a hotel for a week.
It is located right on the Coastal Highway but the new windows (they looked new) muffled most of the noise.
This hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Dewey, 10 minute drive from the Rehoboth Boardwalk and a 10 minute drive from the shopping on the Coastal Highway. While it's not really close to anything - it is in the middle of everything.
We have to say that The Sea Esta IV (under new management and working on renovating) exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms face the coastal highway but a room towards the ends of the hotel would lessen foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This was the worst place I ever stayed. The toilet was filthy, there was hair in the sink, the rug hadn't been vacuumed, there was a lot of dust on the refrigerator and it needed to be defrosted. The microwave did not work, there was no chain lock, no Do Not Disturb sign, no hangers, only one hand towel and a very stained lamp shade. There was no mattress cover and no pillow protectors. There was black mold inside the air conditioner. The shower was very clogged. The bedspreads had blood stains and cigarette burns.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

No frills, but a very convenient spot to stay for a quick beach trip. Just a few minutes' drive from the Rehoboth Beach Boardwalk and even closer to Dewey. And it's one of the few places that allow dogs if you want to bring your pup along to the beach. The wifi wasn't working when we were there, but that wasn't a problem since we were mostly at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The only good thing about this place is . . . . . . pet fee is only $10 per night per pup AND all the free ice you want. We arrived 8/24/14 to find the room looked exactly like in the photo - that exact same polyester cover on all the beds. There is NO WIFI. They give you a sign on code to connect but I could not get a connection. Housekeeping does a lot of walking and talking but didn't find our room until the third day we were there. All they did was make the bed (DID NOT CHANGE THE LINENS) and empty the garbage and refresh the towels. I had to go to the office for toilet paper on day two because they won't leave an extra roll around. There was not one hook in the room or bathroom and the towel bar fell off the wall. Good luck trying to dry out your towels or swim suit. Staff was a bit rude, not terribly, but certainly could use a course in hospitality.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. IF you must stay here, call the large hotel across the street for their wifi pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel was a very good value for the amount we paid to be so close to the beach in the middle of August. It is clear that this is not the most modern hotel but the room was clean and comfortable. What really pleased me is that I accidentally forgot something in the room and the staff was nice enough to be concerned and track the item down for me and mail it. The staff was very friendly and help during out stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Esta Motels IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Esta Motels IV

Address: 20902 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Esta Motels IV 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Esta IV is those who are looking for a quieter respite, but still want to be just a few convenient blocks from Dewey Beach Delaware's top dining and nightlife. Located just 4 blocks from the beach you'll also be able to soak up the sun on the the beautiful white sands of the Delaware beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Esta Motels IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Esta Motels Iv Hotel Dewey Beach
Sea Esta Hotel Iv
Sea Esta Motel Iv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Esta Motels IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.