We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised by this oceanfront hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dewey Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic View Hotel
Save
You added Atlantic View Hotel to your Saves list
2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Staten Island NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by this oceanfront hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Rooms were nicely appointed and clean and bedding was fresh. No musty smells or dampness for an oceanfront property. Nice amenities, friendly service and "homey" touches. The continental breakfast was above the norm, icy cold lemon water in the hot afternoon and warm cookies in the evening were welcome. Negatives were minor - my mother didn't appreciate steps only to the second level but she adjusted, bath was a little tight but had good ventilation and plenty of fresh towels (separate sink outside the bath with nice array of toiletries was pleasing), pool was a little small but clean and not overrun with rowdy kids, the sole ice maker on the property broke down but was tended to in short order. I would not hesitate to return and enjoy another stay here! Much more enjoyable than the hassle and bustle of surrounding areas if a true beach vacation is what you're looking for.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sincerely grateful for your time in reviewing the Atlantic View. We would love to have an elevator but the new building codes don't allow it without major changes. We call the steps our free workout. :) Thanks again for staying with us and for the kind words.
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    61
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancaster,pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Hotel staff are very friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean and beds are very comfy! Bathrooms are tiny, but we did not have a problem with that as we were at the beach, pool or boardwalk most of the time! Location is really great! Having breakfast there every morning was so pleasant and really saves money when you travel with kids! This was our second summer vacation and we will be back again next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay and are excited to have you as our guest again next year. We have third generations staying with us since we opened and we always want to improve each stay. Thanks again for your business and kind words.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Went to Dewey Beach for 1st time with my husband and 2 year old daughter and stayed at the Atlantic View motel. The location is great, right on the ocean and close to Rehoboth beach, but away from the crowds. The rooms are clean with maid service every day and free continental breakfast. The pool was great and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Your business and the time you took to review the Atlantic View is sincerely appreciated. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and we are grateful for your continued business. We build our business on word of mouth advertising and keeping our first time guests as long term customers. We want every stay to be memorable and relaxing. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Traveled with two teenagers they loved the beach! They room was clean, house keeping was on top of the game! The breakfast was very nice. Lots of carbs for the teens, mom liked the yogart and fruit. The coffee was ok..could have been a little hardier ( I like my dunkin donut blend). The evening choc. chip cookies and coffee were a great touch. We had the opportunity to experience a steel drum preformance on our last night...it was great despite a strong storm front that past. We were dancing on the beach path. As families we looked out for each other and the hotel, some made sure the chairs returned to home base. A friend was so territorial he told the owner not to move his chairs since he (our friend) had checked them out. Nice touch with the flower pots about the grounds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Atlantic View and for sharing your experience at the hotel with future guests. It is very satisfying to read your comment on improvements and added touches we have made to make your experience more enjoyable. Our goal is to make your stay memorable and to have first time guests become long time customers. Thanks again for your business.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Nice room on the fourth floor, the sundeck. Good for sleep, very quiet and powerful A/C.
The breakfast is reasonably healthy and saves time and money. The outdoor pool, while compact, is clean and convenient. The management is adorable. Only lacks: wifi is spotty (mgt promises to improve it) and it would be nice to have a selection of newspapers. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review the Atlantic View. We appreciate your business and your suggestions. We continue to improve the WiFi and consider having a variety of newspapers. Thanks again for staying with us, we haope to have you as out guests again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

If you are looking for huge lobbies, marble floors and an elevator, then don't stay here. If you are looking for great service, great location and a quiet place, then this is the perfect spot. This was our first trip to Dewey Beach and because of this little Motel it won't be our last. I have never stayed in a hotel where the entire staff were so kind and friendly to everyone. The rooms aren't fancy but who needs fancy when you are staying at the beach. They were extremely clean though and that is the way they should be. We stayed on the fourth floor which had a sundeck with a beautiful view of the beach. I could've sat out there for hours. The Atlantic View is the perfect hidden gem for me and is now my new favorite place to go. I cannot thank everyone there for making my wife and I getaway the perfect weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Thank you for telling it like it is at the Atlantic View. Your description is exactly what we present and we are grateful for your honest review. While we would,like to have a bigger lobbby and add a few amenities we are limited but the main feature is always our fantastic oceanfront location. While we do have the very best beach front location in Delaware we don't rest on that alone. We know we have to deliver more and our staff is the best at doing what is unexpected in an independent hotel. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the hotel, it is sincerely appreciated!
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Hotel personnel were all extremely pleasant and most helpful. The accomodations were exceptional. The location of the beach and the surrounding areas of attraction were perfect. We visited for our honeymoon and could not have had a more perfect, relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The morning walks on the beach after coffee on our balcony will always be treasured in our minds.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Atlantic View on such a special occasion. We are grateful for your business and for taking the time to write a review to share your experience. I hope you will visit again to relive your honeymoon.
Best Wishes,
Alex Moore
President
Seabaord Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Hotel

Address: 2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only oceanfront hotel in Dewey Beach Delaware. Since 1978 the Atlantic View has been offering generations of visitors its special blend of friendliness and cleanliness. Enjoy watching the dolphins from your private balcony or take just a few steps to get your feet in the sand and stroll our beautiful beach. We offer couples and families memorable visits to our resort town during all seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Hotel Dewey Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.