We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dewey Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic View Hotel
Save
You added Atlantic View Hotel to your Saves list
2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our first visit to Dewey Beach. The hotel is quiet and very clean. Awesome complimentary breakfast with many item selections. Complimentary wine and chocolate chip cookies in the evening....nice touch. Fabulous view from our 3rd floor room. Small microwave and fridge in our room was very convenient. Friendly staff. Great pool. Short walk to great restaurants. Family friendly and definitely will go back!

Room Tip: If you want ocean views stay on second or third floor. Can sleep to the sound of the ocean. Private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticview, General Manager at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience while staying with us at Atlantic View. Your Kind words are the reward for which we work hard to achieve. We are grateful to you for taking the time to write the review and we sincerely appreciate your business. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    61
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Susquehanna, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at Atlantic view for our first visit to Dewey beach and it was a awesome stay the staff was very helpful and friendly the room was very clean ,pool was very nice,beautiful ocean views it is a short walk to beach, the complimentary breakfast was really good and not just carb loaded goodies but real food, the wine and cheese in the afternoon and fresh baked cookies were a really nice treat we would definitely return.only con was no elevator. Y

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticview, General Manager at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
It is our goal to make the first stay with us the first of many to come. We understand how important the first impression is to a guest so from the minute you walk through our doors we want to deliver a special and unique experience to you. I am happy to read that we have succeeded in delivering a wonderful hotel stay for you. I sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Atlantic View Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights in mid July based on its location...right on the beach!! I requested 1 room on the ground floor for my handicapped mom and her sister, which was an excellent choice. I had an oceanfront room on the 3rd floor with the kids, which was fine...the climb up the stairs wasn't too bad. Upon arrival, the front desk clerk (Eric) was very friendly, helpful and even graciously helped my mom and her sister with their luggage and got them settled in their room...now that is what I call awesome service! :-) The morning breakfast was great, cheese and wine at 5pm wonderful, and the cookies at 8pm were delish! The rooms were a bit tight, but manageable. The fridge was decent size, and the beds were comfy. The other guests and staff were all very friendly and we made lots of new friends during our stay! The beach was clean and not crowded..very family oriented. The surf was a little rough at times and the cool water temperature took some getting used to, but the kids loved it. The hotel had decent beach chairs you could use..you just had to stop by the front desk and sign them out for the day, and the clerk would go and unlock them for you. We rented the heavy duty beach umbrellas on the beach ($12 per day per umbrella). The pool was wonderful..clean and the water felt great after spending the day on the beach. Sitting out on the 3rd floor balcony was a real treat...it is a small balcony and only fits 2 chairs and a table but is very relaxing and the view is just awesome! The kids really enjoyed going down to the beach at night and playing with glowsticks and sparklers. The town of Dewey offers some wonderful activities for the family on the beach, which is just a short walk from the hotel. They have a movie night and a bon fire another night. This is now our favorite beach location and we look forward to visting the Atlantic View motel next July!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms above the 1st floor have wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticview, General Manager at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
As an independent hotel the decision to stay with us for the first time is often due to a recommendation by a friend or Trip advisor. Once you walk into our lobby we work hard to show that we offer a great value at a fantastic hotel that delivers five star service. Our goal is to make the first stay with us the first of many to come as we are interested in making long term guest relationships. Thank you for staying with us and thanks you for placing the review it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a great hotel! I had been planning a girls weekend at Dewey for a while and after a few weeks of searching, I chose Atlantic View based on a recommendation from Stephanie who works there. She described it perfectly for what we were looking for. Upon check-in, we were treated very well and accomodated as needed (we had 2 cars and she assisted us in getting a parking pass for the second car for the town of Dewey) Fresh cookies every night at 8 were a plus! The room was SUPER clean and tidy, plenty of towels and amenities, and we even had a cute little balcony to sit out on. During the day we were offered chairs to use while on the beach which was a great space saver for packing the car. In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast in the lobby and sat by the pool (Stephanie even told me they make all the food there - the french toast baked muffins were phenomenal!!) The hotel is located in such a great spot. Basically right across the street from all the main bars/restaurants. We were able to walk to everything and not have to worry about driving or parking.

I ABSOLUTELY plan on staying here again and am already looking for a weekend to take my mom for a mother/daugther get away. THANK YOU Stephanie for making my girls weekend one of the best so far!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticview, General Manager at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank You for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your special Girls weekend. I am happy our staff fit the bill for you and made the occasion a memorable one for you. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Atlantic View. We greatly appreciate you taking the time you review us on Trip Advisor. Hope your next Girls Weekend you choose to share it with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very nice little Hotel, only steps to the beautiful Beach, Mrs. Shirley and her staff were always helpful, and Happy, no matter what time of the day or night it was, Seems like Mrs. Shirley worked 24/7 the king room had plenty room for my husband and myself and our 10 year old boy Adam. who slept on the sofa bed, they also have beach chairs you can use, and even some toys for the kids to take to the beach, washer and dryer was nice as well, I was surprised with the breakfast, we did not expect hot eggs, french toast, they were made into little muffin size, but it was perfect, the staff knew the area as well, and gave us great ideas on where to go for crabs..they were the best too. as you come from the beach the hotel has a hose off and shower area, which was great and the pool was always clean and inviting, very close to everything, ocean side 2nd and 3rd floors you can see the ocean from your balcony then you have the roof, which was perfect with chairs so you can relax. thank you Mrs. Shirley and your great staff for a great vacation on the beach.

Room Tip: oceanside is a must, no elevator, you must climb stairs, but so well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticview, General Manager at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
While we also believe we have an excellent location, when it is coupled with the great service from our front desk staff and the clean accommodations provided by our housekeeping staff we know we offer the best choice in a hotel at the beach. Thank you for the kind words and for helping others make the decision to stay with us at the Atlantic View Hotel. Your business and time in placing the review is sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Wow! The Atlantic View was everything I'd hoped and more. Is it an older property? Yes. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny. It doesn't matter in the slightest. The location alone would make people want to stay there; it is directly on the beach at a perfect location with an almost private beach feeling. Walking distance to Dewey restaurants and nightlife, just a 5-10 minute drive to Rehoboth boardwalk scene. Also, the whole place is spotless, with fantastic service. The decor is charming, the amenities outstanding (breakfast, beach chairs, wine hour, freshly baked cookies, in-room micro/fridge ,etc.), the parking lot is private, and the view is unreal. When we walked into our oceanfront room and saw the beach right through the window we were drawn out the french door to our private balcony. Heaven! The tray of champagne with the sweet cupcake and gift (cool hotel tote bag!) was totally unexpected and really lovely! All I did was mention in my reservation that I couldn't wait to surprise my husband with this trip for his birthday! We LOVE the Atlantic View Hotel and cannot wait to go back - SOON!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for oceanfront. Second and third floor are best for views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticview, General Manager at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Atlantic View. We are grateful to you for your business and we sincerely appreciate your taking the time to review us. Your experience is what you here at Atlantic View strive to deliver for all of our guests as we work very hard to offer a hotel stay that is unique in its friendliness of staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nice place right on the beach, which is not to crowded. Breakfast everyday was great, then in the evening they have wine and cheese and chocolate chip cookies, which my son loved. Parking was not a problem. Staff was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticview, General Manager at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank You for choosing to stay with us at the Atlantic View and Thank You for sharing your experience. We work hard our guests feel appreciated and relaxed when staying with us. When you come to the beach your visit should be enjoyable and memorable time and it starts with your choice of hotel. Thanks again for your kind words, it is sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Hotel

Address: 2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only oceanfront hotel in Dewey Beach Delaware. Since 1978 the Atlantic View has been offering generations of visitors its special blend of friendliness and cleanliness. Enjoy watching the dolphins from your private balcony or take just a few steps to get your feet in the sand and stroll our beautiful beach. We offer couples and families memorable visits to our resort town during all seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Hotel Dewey Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.