We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting on its laurels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Two Seas Restaurant

Two Seas Restaurant
1300 Hwy One, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2409
(302) 227-2610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 restaurants in Dewey Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Resting on its laurels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went for dinner there last summer. The best part of the evening was the drinks on the deck. As many others have noted, it was pricey - overpriced for the quality. The service was slow, even though we had the owner's daughter waiting on us. She seemed to be having a bad day or just doesn't like what she is doing anymore, and was not very friendly . The building smelled musty and seemed run down for all of the money it must make "in season".

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    27
    7
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, DE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooftop view, excellence in food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We dined here for our anniversary in August. Haviing heard many raves about it from locals, we were enticed. Two Seas was everything we had heard and more. Having a drink beforehand from the rooftop was lovely. Each course of the meal was more delicious than the last. The owner was gracious and helpful.This restaurant is only open weekends after Labor Day. Folks who love it return annually or more often. There was a happy private party in the next room who had been there every summer for 20 years.That speaks volumes. We WILL return to Two Seas!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Office
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The Two Seas is a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have been coming to the Two Seas for years and have always had a great experience. This summer we decided to come early and have a drink before our reservation in the Roof Top Lounge. What a wonderful view of the Ocean on one side and the Bay with the setting sun on the other. When we sat for dinner we ordered the a stuffed flounder the fresh fish of the day and the Filet. Both of them were perfect well seasoned and something to remember. The two Seas is a dining experience so plan on a two hour meal which was just what we needed to have some great conversations. The service was just right very attentive but not pushing you out the door so they can turn that table. You will enjoy the dining experience at the Two Seas Restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Four of us ate here on August 30. It was our first visit, but our friends had dined there often. We sat on the rooftop terrace inperfect conditions, which contributed to a great evening. As we watched the sun set over Rehoboth Bay, we enjoyed four excellent meal. I had pasta marinara with scallops and my wife had crabcakes. The quality was excellent and the portions were generous enough for a hearty lunch the next day. The wine list is a bit esoteric. I did not recognize one label on the red wine side, but enjoyed a cabernet recommended by our server. Overall, it was a great experience, but I expect the rooftop would be uncomfortable for much of the summer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced below average food for high price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The back history of this place is great with an awesome view the dog didn't bother me so much but reguardless of the price the food took forever and it was below average for at least what our table ordered. The food quality was no where near price point that they command and the lawn chairs that you sit in do not help them at all. I always like to try something at least once and I eat at restaurants a lot to the point I don't even need a fridge at home to give you an idea how much I eat out and have done everything from 30 for two all the way up to 600 for two that would include appetizer, main course, wine and dessert. At this place for two I spent around 100 for the two of us but it felt like it should been around 40-50 and even then my steak was still should har been sent back but because everything took so long I just wanted to eat what I could and leave. Maybe you will have better luck but Dewey Beach is our second home to us as we are here every weekend year round and there are far better high end places that you could dine at for equal or less money

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Seas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Two Seas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Seas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.