We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's East Coast Bar & Grill

Woody's East Coast Bar & Grill
1904 Coastal Hwy, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
(302) 260-9945
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Woody's Dewey Beach has been serving the best crab cakes and burgers at the beach since 2009. Located at the heart of Dewey Beach, our friendly staff is here year round to provide great service and our award winning food in a fun and friendly atmosphere! Stop by and sample our menu - from homemade chips to the best authentic crab cake around, and check out our daily specials and events. Whether you stroll off the beach to have lunch on our porch, or came back at night for dinner and entertainment, you'll see why we were named the Best of Dewey in 2012!
Bainbridge, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I ate at Woody's twice during our stay in Dewey Beach. We each had the 12 oz. New York strip the one night. Wow! Never had a steak that good at that price! The next night was steamed shrimp and cheeseburger sliders off the appetizer and split. Kind of a redneck surf n turf! Just as good as the steaks the night before.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    48
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton DE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had heard very good things about the crabcakes here.They are full of lump crabmeat and very little else. The bun was delish and the homemade potato chips with a hint of Old Bay were great. We will return again as the restaurant is open year round. If you are looking for a crabcake loaded with FRESH lump crab meat. This is your spot. Lots of locals too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Holy Grail of crabcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a little dive of a bar on the main drag in Dewey, but we heard that the crabcakes were amazing, so we decided to try them out for lunch yesterday. Sat at the bar and the bartender, Jeremy, was really nice. We could not believe the size of the crabcakes, and they are almost entirely HUGE chunks of fresh crab, just barely held together, and served on a warm brioche roll with house-made chips. Just the amount of crab that fell out while we were eating could make another crabcake! I also ordered coleslaw, it was very good, slightly sweet with a lemony tang. Will definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best crabcakes EVER!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went on a Friday night with some girlfriends from work, it snowed like crazy but we had the best time ever. Thank you Aidan, our waiter for putting up with a bunch a crazy, fun loving women. Woody, you have a great place there. Keep up the great work. Highly recommend the crabcake sandwich and chicken noodle soup !! Both were a total food orgasm!!!!!!!!!! This is the only place to go for a crabcake sandwich. Trust me! Thank you Woody so much!!! Did not sit outdoors as it was snowing, but when you needed a smoke there was fire lanterns to warm your buns :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey Beach, DE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best crab cake on the East Coast!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch at Woodys on Sunday after hearing about the crab cakes. This was by far one of the best crab cakes I have ever had. They are full of lump meat with no filler. They are large and filling. We enjoyed a few draft bears at the bar watching the football game. Woodys is a laid back casual bar that looks unimpressive from the street. However I would dare to say the crab rivals the best and finer restaurants on the east coast. We will be back!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's East Coast Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woody's East Coast Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's East Coast Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.