We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Ocean Front Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dewey Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Save
You added Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House to your Saves list
1 Read Avenue, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly The Surf Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Special Ocean Front Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife, (beachlover898) reported on our vacation last year, at the Surf Club Hotel in Dewey Beach, De. This year, we spent some time, again in August at the Surf club. We had another terrific vacation.

The main thing about the Surf Club Hotel is their family oriented attitude. There is an attentive staff that makes you feel comfortable. This is just an enjoyable place to vacation at and look forward to going back again.

The Surf Club Hotel is unique (it is a Kitchenette Efficiency) and different from other beach front hotels in that they have a "Florida/Sun Room" in each unit. This room use to be an exposed balcony. Now, it is a floor to ceiling glass enclosed, air conditioned, and ocean viewing room, giving you that "Million Dollar View of the Beach", that is spectacular. Not to worry, there are windows that can be opened for fresh ocean air and to hear the sound of the surf against the shore.

This is a cozy, clean and comfortable pool for a nice change from being on the beach. Here is a good place to meet and talk with others that are vacationing or just to read. It is also a good place for kids to meet and play with other kids.

The Surf Club Hotel has another uncommon offering for the guests. The hotel provides to the guests, free use of freshly cleaned beach towels, each day, while staying at the hote. What a treat!! -- not to worry about what to do with your wet and sandy beach towels after use. Just drop them off at the front office, and pick up another fresh towel when you need it.

I would go back again. And We Plan to, beachlover898's LOVER

Room Tip: We prefer the Ocean front rooms as they have a better view of the ocean. We also like the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    7
    10
    4
See reviews for
16
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

You may be able to find more exquisite accommodations, but not for the money.

Rooms are clean and well equipped. Right on the beach, with great ocean front and ocean views, and you are seconds from your spot on the sand. Walking distance everywhere. Ruddertowne. Grottos. Starboard. Jimmie's.

This is a clean place to stay. The rooms are immaculate.

Well decorated rooms. Full kitchen. Stereo in the room.

Walls and ceilings are a little thin, so you can hear loud talkers and hard footsteps.

We love the Surf Club!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I recently stayed at the Surf Club on a warm sunny day in November. I found the property to offer an amazing OceanFront Experience! The Ocean. The Ocean and sounds of the waves crahing onto the shores were so close The beach from Rehobeth thru Dewey is mainly un-developed with million dollar beach homes. This property is located at the end of Read Street at the Ocean so no traffic noise.... just the peaceful sounds of the Ocean lapping the beach. The beach access is adjacent to the property. The propery has a lovely heated pool (seasonly) , laundry, sauna, and large hot tub! The condos was unique studio- efficiency type condo. One large room with a kitchenette had microwave, two burner stove, refrigerator and sink and everything you need to cook and entertain! adjacent to the kitchen was built in draws for storage, and book shelf library. Flat screen TV cable/ HBO service and DVD player. there was a large L shapped comfortable sofa (sleeper) and a full sized comfortable Murphy Bed in the wall for a space saving design. The class sliding doors opened into a tiled sunroom with 4 seater glass table, and built in day bed for reading and a wall of windows offer amazing views ,breezes, and sounds of the ocean. Each unit offers an independant controlled HVAC unit. The bathroom was very clean and well appointed and had a window which was nice for added natural light! There is no elevator, so if you can't do stairs stay on level one, there is a dump waiter for luggage though. The Management was friendly and very welcoming. The best units are the units endin in 1 , 8, and 9 and there are several different sizes there are side units offering amazing Ocean views these are referred to as Small Ocean View, and Large Ocean View. Pick the large ocean view best units on this side are 9's, 10's, 11's, 12,'s and 13's on floor 1,2, or 3, the higher you go the better view and more quiet. The large unit we stayed was 310 and it was great! there was just two of us, even though the condo could accomodate another couple it would get cramped fast, especially in the small units.
This is an amazing off seaon best bet. You are close to everthing! Parking is free everywhere and off season there are no crowds and everything is often. A great romantic place to stay! Very affordable, comfortable, but not glitzy with granite, marble etc. A beautiful alternative to a traditional hotel or Motel at the beach and priced for less.... hard to believe! Did I mention Free WiFi too

Room Tip: Best rooms are Ocean front units ending in 1,8,9 and Ocean view Large units rooms numbers ending in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed during Greyhound and Sidewalk Sales week. Hotel was full, but everyone was quiet and slept quite well. The room was clean and the view of the sun coming up over the ocean is beautiful beyond words.
The only problem we encountered was parking. We had a hard time finding a space, but waitied until everyone else went for dinner and then could park.
We did have to pay at checkin, but that really didn't bother us to do so. I will return to The Surf Club again, as we had a very comfortable visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiral galaxy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Was here just one day while travelling, off season. First stay @ Dewey. Had an ocean front efficiency that seemed nicely equipped for a long stay. Bright comfortable room that was just slightly seedy (door dead bolt wouldn't close, a little peeling here and there but minor, murphy bed not as comfy as regular but not bad) but not bad for the cheaper off season rate. Not sure if you could do better on season. Would definitly return off season. Loved Dewey and Rehoboth!

Room Tip: No elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I drove down to Dewey Beach for a long weekend getaway and stayed at The Surf Club. They booked me into a third floor room, which had an excellent view down the length of the beach, surf and sand, as far as I could see. This was enjoyable while working on the computer indoors, and I was only steps from the beach when I wanted to go out for a stroll. The rooms have all the essentials of a condo, making it convenient to dine in. Restaurants and other establishments are nearby and easy to walk to. Shopping and entertainment a short drive.

Room Tip: For the best views, definitely ask for a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel has breathtaking views. We had a great stay with family. We will definitely come back next year. I'm pretty sure that the hotel is under new management. I have heard that they had some problems in the past and are cleaning up the party scene to create a family friendly place. After staying here and reading some reviews of the hotel I made some observations. Of course people who stay and party here and are told to quiet down will give this place a bad review. You can't make everyone happy. Overall its a great place and the rooms are a little bigger then normal. My compliments to Charlie and his staff!!!

Room Tip: Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Avenue, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly The Surf Club)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.