We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hammerheads

Hammerheads
1818 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 38 Restaurants in Dewey Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: They have no website so I added the facebook page. I go here at least once a week. one of the only bars open year round in Dewey.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunny Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great outdoor area right on the waterway. Drinks reasonably priced and good food. And the band played on!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Was told by a mutual friend to try, so I did. Great atmosphere, outdoors, palm trees, two bars (one inside and one outside), but selection of beer (no draft) and wine was a little short for me. Food disappointing. I ordered the lump crab cake (as stated on the menu) and it was a good price, but I do not consider what they gave me a lump crab cake. The taste was just OK, not the worse, but not really good either. I asked about their HH, they only have drink specials, no food items. Will not be going back, too many good places in the area for HH and a really good crab cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun bar to get drunk at!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This bar has a lot of cute quirks, but, it's really just another Dewey get drunk bar. If given the option I would go to the rudder or the starboard!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Crab balls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Crab balls and clams were perfect! Our friends got the pork tacos, looked yummy and very fat! The Chicken Parm looked good, good selection of soups on a cold February night. Also a surprisingly nice selection of beer, including drafts. It's a bar though, loud and it is Dewey, parking is a challenge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worst experience I've had at a restaurant in years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went for an early dinner last Sunday. We had heard good things, and decided to try. When we walked in, we sat down, and it was very busy. We never saw a waiter/waitress for the first 10-15 minutes of sitting there. When someone finally came close to our table, we finally called them over and it was as if they hadn't intended on waiting on us. We ordered drinks and got menus. I ordered an unsweetened iced tea and my husband a beer. After another 10 minutes or so, we finally got our drinks, but no sweetener for me. It would take me asking the waitress 3 more times over the course of the next 25 minutes to get sweetener for my tea. At one point, she actually came over and said "I feel like I'm forgetting something", to which I told her, the sweetener I had already asked for 3 times. The waitress apologized several times and said we had come in at a bad time, but it was a poor excuse. The food took absolutely forever. While the wings were good, we were so frustrated with the absolutely horrid service and pathetic excuses, we will never go back. I don't recommend this place to anyone. They need to get their act together.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads also viewed

 

Been to Hammerheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammerheads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.