We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port - Dewey Beach

Port - Dewey Beach
1205 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
302-227-0669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Dewey Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We tried this restaurant on a recommendation from a sweet couple leaving the restaurant. The meals and drinks were perfect. I had the Pad Thai with shrimp and chicken. It was scrumptious. My husband had the fish of the day with potatoes and broccoli. We cannot complete the freshness and taste enough. We were surprised we enjoyed it this much. We will be back. The waitstaff was attentive and gracious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    6
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CAPE MAY NEW JERSEY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever and have dined all over the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Our pad Thai was sub par missing key ingredients like peanuts and cilantro which the restaurant is known for apparently they do not know good pad Thai I had a gifft certificate that excluded the pad Thai special but according to our calculations we would pay full price for only one dish. When our bill came we question the bill.the wait person sent the manager to our table without us asking for the manager.He berated us in a hostile manner and told us to read the certificate before buying it next time. Our you serious is this anyway to treat customers? We are three local professionals. One of us owns her own business and were stunned by the way we were berratted by this owner.We did not even ask him to come to our table. That was no way to treat three nice ladies. Steer clear of this restaurant sub par food and an owner who needs to attend anger management classes. Or just get some class.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice find in Dewey Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our innkeeper in Rehoboth Beach recommended the Port restaurant three years ago, and we have been going each of those past years. It's a short and enjoyable trolley ride from Rehoboth and well worth the trip. I usually have the fish, but this year tried the Pad Thai, which both my wife and daughter also enjoyed. Absolutely delicious (we stayed with spice level 3, which is on the milder side). The range goes all the way to 10, for those who love the dish much spicier. Thai spring rolls for our appetizer and banana foster for dessert, made for a great meal. Service was great and our waiter actually opened the door for us upon our leaving. A really nice restaurant as an alternative from the crowded Rehoboth Beach scene.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great tasting food but did not address problem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate there in June for the first time. The food and service were good and the menu is unique. We decided to get takeout this time and found a hair in my husband's food. Called the restaurant and they acted like they didn't believe me, didn't apologize, and then told me 'to come see him' the next time I'm in. There definitely won't be a next time after that response which sucks because I'm local and definitely would have patronized them in the future. Just poor customer service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeweySquirrel, Owner at Port - Dewey Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Customer called over 3 hours after taking home carry out order and restaurant was closed. Complained of curly blonde hair, no one on staff has that hair type as well as Kitchen staff all have shaved heads due to heat in kitchen. I offered her free replacement meal upon her next visit. Obviously this was not good enough for her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

of the many choices in dewey beach, we decided to try this restaurant for dinner and we were not disappointed. the service was excellent, and the food was wonderful. also, it is a nice place for conversation without all the loud background music.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port - Dewey Beach also viewed

 

Been to Port - Dewey Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port - Dewey Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.