We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wild town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bay Resort to your Saves list
The Bay Resort
126 Bellevue St., Dewey Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Weekend Getaway
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, wild town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at the Bay Resort for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. We had our sons with us (age 14 and 11).
The hotel is a standard beach hotel. the room was very clean and the good size refridgerator is a plus. Our room faced the bay which was very pretty. The folks at the front desk were super friendly . We asked for a few extra pillows which were delivered immediately. The gentleman also gave us some good restaurant tips etc. The beach is a few block walk and there are several places to eat etc within walking distance (Grotto pizza, rita's etc).
Maybe it was just the weekend we were there (holiday) but the whole town was filled with young people intent on drinking all hours of the day and night. The first day we arrived, there was a group of young girls doing beer bongs by the pool. Another group played football in the morning while drinking beer. There are 2 nightclubs very close so there were often intoxicated young people wandering the streets. one day we watched two drunk young women fall off the dock into the bay (it's very shallow) and they could not get back out. It was really disgusting.
Trust me, my husband and I like to drink and party as well, but this was out of hand. after a while even my kids (who thought the antics were funny at first) got tired of drunks everywhere. Surprisingly, the room was fairly quiet and I only heard noice in the hallways once. The party crowd left beer cans, pizza boxes etc all over the grassy area, which the hotel always cleaned up very quickly.
So of course, this is not the hotel's fault. Just think twice if you are traveling with young kids etc as this is quite a party town. Rehoboth Beach is much more family friendly in my opinion.

Overall, I would definitely visit the Bay Resort again, just maybe not on a holiday weekend.

  • Liked — quiet bayfront location
  • Disliked — crowds of drunks
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    58
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Everything you advertise in your brochure and on your website is 100% true. The rooms and pool are very clean, the bayside view spectacular, the parking convenient. Shirley and Dan both very pleasant. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

The Bay Resort Motel at Dewey Beach is a decent place for a stop over for a quick visit to the beach (1-2 days). We got to this place when we decided last minute to go to Deway from DC and decided to follow the advice from the TripAdvisor community (where the motel is ranked #1).

We found that the reviews we read in TripAvisor were true. The place is well mantained (is has been renovated recently), has a good standard of cleanness and is relatively quiet, despite being close to some noisy bars and discos.

Being a motel, the place doesn't serve breakfast, but has a small kitchenette, what is be a great help. The hotel is walking distance to the beach (4 blocks), though is not exactly BY the beach.

Each room comes with two queen beds, quite comfortable, actually. There's also a small balcony at each room, which can be facing either the bay or the pool. There's a 20$ extra fee for the view to the bay,which is worth paying.

Finally, we would like to state the the personnel at the motel is very nice and helpful.

  • Liked — The balcony, the view, the kitchenette
  • Disliked — It would improve significantly being beside the beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I had stayed at this resort about 5 years ago and loved it then.

We recently returned and I was thrilled that the resort was as I remembered. Large spacious room with 2 beds, a kitchenette area with toaster, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, stove and oven! (refirgerator looked new, other appliances were in great condition)
Utensils were stored in the cupboards so if you wanted to cook you could.
The room was tastefully decorated,and spotless. I believe it had been redone since we were there. The room we had faced the bay - and had a nice balcony with chairs and small table. It was great to sit out at nite and watch the egrets and herons fish for their late nite snack.
The staff here are probably the friendliest and nicest I have ever encountered and I have traveled a bit!
It is about 2 blocks from the ocean. There is a pool, although small, is clean and well cared for.
Your room faces either the pool or the bay - we requested bay front as it is more scenic.
The bay front has a small area with chairs and some sand, a pier and a nice grassy area.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone - although it is not ocean front we loved the bay view and the fact that it is in a quiet area .
The hotel is 3 stories, and does not have an elevator. So if stairs are a problem for you - request a first floor room.

  • Liked — the room, the view, the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candirn
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and loved it. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly, and the view is fabulous. The pier was fun to walk out on and we saw such a variety of wildlife from our balcony. I would recommend this hotel to just about anyone.

  • Liked — The amazing viewa
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

Clean, new carpeting nice decorating and wonderful view of the bay. Weather was horrible but it cleared up on Saturday night for a nice sunset! Pool looks small but nice, will definately go back.

  • Liked — view of the bay and the sunset
  • Disliked — older tub but still very clean
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

April is a Great time to go visit Dewey and Rehobeth beach. The hotel was quiet, clean and the staff were great. The Bay view was beautiful. We were able to walk to a couple bars, and we were a quick drive to the restaurants in Rehobeth.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Resort

Address: 126 Bellevue St., Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Dewey Beach
Bay Resort Dewey Beach
Bay Hotel Dewey Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.