We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Esta Motels III

Sea Esta Motels III
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Esta Motels III
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1409 Highway 1, Dewey Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Dewey Beach
Seaford, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Renovated????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were let into our room early because it was cleaned and waived the surpervisor from checking it out. What a mistake... grandaughter found gatorade bottle by the bed with pee in it and I stepped on a beer bottle cap getting into bed. The shower curtain had mold all over it. The only thing I could see was the walls painted and new bedding. Was standard room wiith kitchette...be prepared no dishes, cups, untensil and pots and pans. Went out on balcony and almost tore arm off opening it. Curtain on doors must have been stored away for off season and when they put them up they must have been stuck together because backing was all screwedup and light could come in from the outside. I could spit on the mobil home next to us and no view I guess unless maybe you were on the third floor. I believe you get what you pay for so be prepared. I can only say the woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful.I work at hotel in Ocean City, Md and when you get kitchen you get everything with it.
City

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels III, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Darlene,
I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for your last stay with us. We do have a few sets of pots and pans for our guest at their requests. But I will see about adding them to all rooms. You said you work at a property in Ocean City so I am sure that you understand why we normally do not let new guests go into a room without it being inspected by housekeeping. Before we turn our room over we normally insist on having the Executive Housekeeper going through to make sure that everything is in working order and cleaned properly for the next guest.
That being said though I am sorry that you did experience these items. We do regularly lube the doors so they slide easy however just s little sand in the track can make them hard to open. I hope that if you do every travel back up to the area that you would give us another chance for us to show you that this is not the norm for our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for an overnight girls beach trip. The room was directly across from the beach, so the proximity was good. It was right next to a great tiki bar and restaurant called the Rusty Rudder. The rooms were clean and quiet. They have easy parking with plenty of spots. The hotel staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.
Overall, I found this to be a great place to stay for your money. The only complaint is that they do not have a lobby bathroom which made it difficult to change for the beach while we were waiting for our room to be ready.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels III, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip. As for a changing room that is something we will not be able to have since we are a small property, but check with the desk and we might be able to sneak you into a room to get changed. We are here to help and make you as comfortable as possible.
Hope to see you Ladies again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The front desk personnel are really friendly and helpful. Thats a plus. The rooms are clean BUT not upscale by any stretch. Just basic needs for coffee machine, small refrigerator, & Kitchenette.
Very close to the beach and walking distance to all food, bars, etc. Great location! If you want something simple - go for it. And you can get at a really good rate if you check the expedia or other type internet sites...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels III, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your stay with us. I am glad you were treated right by us and that we were able to take care of your visit to the Beach. Just so you know though we can always get you a great rate when you call us directly. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is obviously an older motel, but it has been maintained and freshly painted. The room was clean and quiet. I was thrilled that it was only 1 block off of the beach and close to a public beach access point. The staff was helpful and quite friendly. My only complaint was with the pillows - they were lumpy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels III, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for choosing us for your recent stay. We put a lot of work over the last winter during the cold cold weather to update the property. We are very glad to hear that you liked it. We have heard your comments as well and will look into new pillows with the synthetic fill that will not be lumpy.
We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Dewey Beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We only booked this place because it is one of (if not the only) motel in Dewey that allows you to have your dog. We love that Dewey allows you to bring your dog on the beach all year round (restricted times during the summer). This motel was perfect for us because we didn't' expect it to be a 5 star hotel since our dog would be staying with us. We stayed in the corner room on the 3rd floor because there was a nice big porch for our dog to relax. The motel is in a great location and there are tons of restaurants within in block or so. Room was a little up to date, but could still use some upgrades.

The things we would complain about would be the old school tv, kitchenette didn't have any pots/pans or kitchen ware so bring that stuff if you plan on using it, there is no patio furniture, just 2 plastic chairs. We actually took the table in the room out to the porch to eat breakfast. Also, the sink made a weird noise whenever you used it. We would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room since there is a wrap around porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels III, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your last stay with us. I am happy that you found us and hope that your four legged friend had a good trip and stay with us as well. Just so you are aware we have heard your comments about the TV's and are working on getting them upgraded to larger flat panel TV's.
So hopefully on your next visit to us you can watch TV on a much better set. We look forward to seeing you and your pets again. Don't forget that there are many pet events coming up in late September and October. We'd love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in the middle of the Dewey Beach night life and bars- this is the place for you. Although the location was great, the woman behind the front desk was horribly rude. I get it, you don't like dealing with drunk beach go-ers, but then don't work at this motel! The rest of the staff was great, friendly and helpful. Room was below average, they don't clean it unless you ask them. Very little lighting and uncomfortable beds. I'd recommend getting a beach house with your friends or staying at a chain motel nearby if you are coming here- the prices just aren't low enough for the poor service and rooms you are getting compared to others!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels III, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I would like to first say I am very sorry about your treatment by my Front Desk. That is definitely not what we are about and we do not treat our guests in such a manner. I do truly apologize for what you experienced though.
We recently updated and upgrade our bedding to the triple sheeting and the duvets to replace the old comforters. Most of our guest have said that they do like the updating and the newer rooms and I am sorry again that you did not like the renovations we did. We are always looking for feedback on the décor and I do value your opinion on this and will pass this on to our new ownership. We do clean all of our rooms every day, however if you leave the Do Not Disturb sign on the door we do all we can to honor your privacy and do not enter the room.
I do hope that you would give us another chance to show you that we are much better than your last stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Esta Motels III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Esta Motels III

Address: 1409 Highway 1, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Esta Motels III 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SeaEsta III is the perfect location for those who want to be in the middle of the world-famous Dewey Beach night life. Sea Esta III is centrally located just steps from the Rusty Rudder, Rudder Town, Bottle and Cork, Grottos Pizza, the Starboard and other major attractions. We are also just a block away from the beach for those looking to soak up the sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sea Esta Motels III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Esta Motels Iii Hotel Dewey Beach
Sea Esta Motel Iii
Sea Esta Hotel Iii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Esta Motels III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.