We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cracking pub in every respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watermill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watermill Inn
Save
You added Watermill Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ings LA8 9PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Ings B&B and Inns
Crosby
1 review
“cracking pub in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Visited the Watermill for the 1st time on Friday & was more the impressed by everything. As I was driving I only had a half of Collie Wobbles, a lovely light, "moreish" pint & I look forward to sampling the full range of beers when I don't have a car! In addition, there was an excellent range of malts, including one of my favourites, Caol Ila, a rare event in a pub.

The food was fine - nothing fancy, but proper pub food grub, quickly served & a lot of it. The pub is a also very dog friendly, serving up biscuits & water for our 2.

I can't think of a single bad thing to say about the Watermill & look forward to returning soon.

Colin Smith, Crosby

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    73
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting this pub since its early days. We have stayed, eaten and drunk here many times, and have always enjoyed it. In fact, when staying there many years ago, I attempted to drink my way through the cask beers on the first evening. Needless to say, I didn't get halfway through. Now that the pub brews its own beer that side of things is even better. The food has been consistently good over the years too. We would give the Watermill 5 stars, but my wife has Coeliac disease, and the Gluten free options are usually limited to fish, which she is not fond of. One other minor gripe is the availability of car park spaces.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We visited here for lunch, we took our dog in which was fine as most other diners had their dogs too. The staff were very welcoming even to the canine clients (offering them some dog biscuits, a lovely touch) the menu is excellent with something for all tastes. The pub is very cosy and a typical English inn. The food came quickly and the steak pie was fantastic with lots of excellent quality tender meat. Highly recommend this pub would definetly eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just got back from lunch at the Watermill. I must say the people who are going on about dogs in the bar area are either stupid or cant read. There are TWO bars the left hand one for dog owners and pets the right hand bar no dogs allowed it clearly states this on the door as you enter. The menu has lots to offer and lots of specials on the board. We opted for the cumberland sausage it was very tasty and the mash was lovely with mixed veg and a gravy that included one of the locally brewed ales. They have a micro brewery onsite so lots of tasty ales to chose from. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Give it a try and don't listen to the moaning minnies you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at The Watermill Inn with friends on a short break in the Lake District and had a great time. The pub has it's own micro brewery on site producing 6 real ales all of which were sampled with gusto (even our other halves dropped their usual preference for wine because they liked the beers so so much!) The food is excellent with a good choice from both the a la carte menu and the daily specials. The Sticky Toffee pudding was voted the best ever tasted (and we have eaten in some very good restaurants over the years. the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only drawback ot the stay (which would not stop us going back) was the en-suite in our room (no 6) needed redecorating. There was mildew and the ceiling showed signs of having had a leak in the past but ignoring that this is a must stay place in the Lake District

Room Tip: If you are tall room 6 will probably not suit as the ceiling is low being built in the eaves
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This little Gem is only a short drive from Windemere, just far enough to be away from the crush of traffic and tourists, but just a couple of minutes drive if that's what you want. The Inn just wraps around you when you enter, with the lovely woodwork and ambience. Every one of the staff were delightfully friendly and made our stay a pleasure. Plenty of local beers and ciders plus international beers were on offer. Conistons No 9 Barley wine, voted Champion Beer of Britain in 2012 was available, but beware, have a taster first as a pint could blow your head off.
The pub was cheerful, colourful and cosy and Tony our bartender was a treat. Breakfast was a cracker, served by bubbly waitress June who was an absolute delight, but I had to cut back to just Wheatabix on our last day before I burst. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 upstairs could be a problem if you are a light sleeper and need cool to sleep well. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great food made even better by friendly attentive staff - even when they're rushed off their feet on a Bank Holiday Monday!

Had the pleasure of eating here on Monday and our expectations were exceeded. One of the waiters made sure that our table was wiped as soon as we'd sat down.

Would be a pleasure to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watermill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Inn

Address: Ings LA8 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ings
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill is a homely traditional Lakeland pub ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.