We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite featherdown farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hesket Newmarket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge
Save
You added Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge to your Saves list
Hesket Newmarket CA7 8JN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite featherdown farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have just spent the weekend at Howbeck Lodge with my 2 boys (age 8 & 13). We had the most amazing time. This was our 2nd featherdown farm experience and it is now our favourite, we are already on the website looking at when we can book another holiday here. If you have not yet experienced a featherdown farm, you must try Howbeck Lodge - its wonderful..... John, Christine, Sarah and Matt were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, they made us feel really welcome and were more than happy for us to experience hands on farm life and to answer a million questions from all of us. We bottle fed the lambs, even saw a baby lamb being born and then farmer John took us up onto the hills in his trailer to check on the sheep and the baby lambs. Matt and Sarah came with us and the kids loved having races with them and seeing who would get to the baby lambs first and then we laughed as Matt, Sarah and John tried to catch the baby lambs so they could dock their tails, Sarah caught the naughty lamb so we all cheered "girls are better than boys" - us mums enjoyed it as much as the kids. That evening we all enjoyed Christine's homemade Pizza's , I think they were £6 each, farmer John cooked them in the clay oven, they were delicious. The other 2 mums i got chatting to said that Christine had made a bolognaise with homemade garlic bread on the day they arrived and they said that was absoslutely delicious too, so i think we will be ordering that next time. The honesty shop was well stocked and reasonably priced, you must try Christine's cakes, we can recommend the iced sponge , and you can order fresh bread in the evening and it will be delivered to your tent in the morning - warm!! The showers were clean, hot and powerful and there was even a hairdryer! The sun shone the whole time so we were lucky but it really was a perfect weekend and one the kids (and me) will remember for ever. We will definately be going back to Howbeck Lodge and i have no hesitation in recomending it to you! Thankyou to John, Christine, Sarah and Matt for wonderful memories :-) x

Room Tip: I took a little gas stove to make a quick brew
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sale cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have been to stay at Howbeck Lodge as part of Featherdown Farms and at the B and B too and have taken over the site for next Easter for a long weekend. It's the perfect family getaway at the foot of the stunning Howbeck hills, and each stay we have had has been amazing.

The hospitality of the family who run the 'glamping' site is outstanding; I have never been anywhere where I have been welcomed more on a holiday. I have never been anywhere either where with two small boys have I felt that while they had the best outdoors, back to nature experience, swallows and amazon experience, I also had a much needed break!

The food we have ordered has made it all the better; not having to cook yourself is a huge bonus if you choose to totally unwind (try Christine's lamb tagine and chocolate puddings), and pizza night by the bread oven with lanterns is the best fun for the children and adults alike - add in a bottle of champagne and it's even better!

To top it all, the animals which the children adore are all gentle, farmer John is great with all the children, and we even helped deliver lambs.

All in all, an experience nobody should miss, and I haven't even mentioned the beautiful scenery, lovely warm bread, hot powerful clean showers, gorgeous honesty shop, cute villages around...............

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This trip was my fifth trip to Howbeck Lodge in less than a year and I am booked in again for April.
Someone told me about Featherdown farms sometime ago and I decided to go for it and book with my Son, a friend and her 2 young sons and I feel like I struck gold!!
John, Christine, Sarah and David are the perfect hosts, they cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Over my 5 trips there myself and my Son have delivered baby lambs, fed them milk from bottles, collected freshly laid eggs each morning. had candle lit dinners in our gorgeous tent, sat under the trees drinking champagne and eating pizza made by the farmers wife and cooked by the farner in the outside bread oven... I could go on and on!!
We always order meals from Christine, they are gorgeous and there is more than enough for seconds and thirds... you can't be on a diet when you go!
I can't speak highly enough of Howbeck lodge.. If you have children it is a must! I will take my Son there every year now as it is jam packed of all the things that will become incredible memories for him in years to come!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We had 5 days at Howbeck with our 2 and 6 year olds. The first evening was tough as it was torrential rain but weather improved as the week went on and the children loved playing with the rabbits, chickens and goats.

There were a few disappointments, namely paying for the premium service but having to light the stove ourselves which turned out to be easy so not a problem but no refund offered. Secondly paying £40 for a disappointing meal and an additional £15 for a delicious pudding and £2.50 for a small loaf! Felt slightly ripped off. Also I thought because we were on a farm the children would have been taken onto the farm and been able to get involved a little but they weren't at all although John did give them a couple of rides in a trailer and was always friendly. We also hadn't realized how far from the main lake district it was, you hVe to be prepared to make your own entertainment which ia great if it's dry.

The experience was magical though and the children liked it more than an all inclusive in Austria earlier in the year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night stay on this Feather Down Farm facility which overall we enjoyed. 2 adults 2 young children and a dog. The facilities were very good and the farmer and his wife were great. The kids especially enjoyed their stay on the farm. The only thing we feel badly let down by is the following.
We booked an evening meal on the first night with the farmer because we were unsure of where we could go to eat out. We chose home made cottage pie which we thought at £40 pounds for the four of us was expensive but we assumed it would be an amazing farm cooked meal how wrong we were. We were delivered a dish of cottage pie which would have fed 2 adults and 2 children had it not tasted like a very bland school dinner of which we left at least half . To make matters even worse we also ordered a Roulade desert which we were charges £15 which was absolutely terrible even the kids who will normally eat any desert put in front of them baulked at finishihg their portions and again we left at least half of the desert. To summarise the break on the farm was good but we feel that we have been ripped off. We paid £55 yes £55 for a dish of cottage pie and a desert which we could not eat. We did have a really enjoyable meal in a local pub the Oddfellows on our last night which cost £35. You live and learn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Although we had a couple of wet days we really enjoyed our stay at Howbeck - the location was stunning and the tents lived up to expectations. The farmer, John, was extremely helpful and friendly and took time to chat to our children and show them round the farm. We took a small gas stove, but once you had sussed out the wood burner you didn't really need it. Top tip - try the bacon on sale in the honesty shop - ten times better than Tescos!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge

Address: Hesket Newmarket CA7 8JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Hesket Newmarket
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hesket Newmarket
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located inside the Lake District National Park you can experience true rural isolation and a little piece of heaven. There are a plethora of walks on your doorstep, quiet beaches at the Solway Firth and back on the farm we have lambs in spring, prize winning Highland cattle and paddling in the stream is a stone’s throw from the tents.We are the Stobart family: John, Christine, and children David, Joanne and Sarah, and we have farmed at Howbeck Lodge for over 20 years. Ours is a traditional sheep and beef farm of 300 acres that is worked in a sustainable manner as part of the higher level Countryside Stewardship Scheme. John is passionate about his livestock, particularly his Highland cattle and Christine is well known locally for her homemade produce. She will provide guests with her cakes, biscuits, soups, ready meals, jams and marmalades, all available from the farm pantry in the quaint little barn next to the Featherdown tents. In this lovingly restored barn our hot showers are downstairs and the farm pantry above - everything you will need for a comfortable stay here.Being inside the Lake District National Park makes it a must as a base for walkers of course, but that’s not the whole story. Our tents’ setting by the side of an enchanting stream, the company of the red squirrels and the prettiest Farm Larder anywhere. One guest’s comment was the greatest compliment we could receive: “John made us laugh, Christine’s food made us drool, and Sarah taught us how to feed lambs. It was truly one of the best holidays we’ve ever had”.Howbeck offers a great way of experiencing luxury camping in the Lake District, as you can access the centre of the region with ease on the scenic routes across the open Northern Fells. In the evening, once you’re back among the chickens, goats, rabbits, horses and Highland cattle, you can experience true rural isolation. The quiet attractive beaches of the Solway Firth are within easy reach as well. Another rich slice of rural England is served up almost every week in the area from June until September in the form of agricultural shows. You might even see John there with his prize livestock, as he is a regular trophy winner.Howbeck Farm is just a short stroll to the unspoilt village of Hesket Newmarket which boasts a lovely children’s play area, a riverside walk and the very popular Old Crown Pub which is well worth a visit along with the Hesket Newmarket Brewery Cooperative. All the beautiful lakes are within easy reach and Keswick on Derwent water is only 12 miles. For those who love the great outdoors we can give tips on the many trails and footpaths leading straight from the farm – from gentle strolls to strenuous Fell walks. There is also pony trekking within half an hour’s driveMany of our repeat visitors return particularly in the Spring for lambing time. During the summer there are near-weekly agricultural shows at which to experience a rich slice of rural England. You may even see John there with his sheep – they’re regular trophy winners!Sorry but we do not except dogs at Howbeck ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.