We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still waiting for something to impress me.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Grille

Jimmy's Grille
18541 S Main St, Bridgeville, DE 19933
302-337-7575
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 restaurants in Bridgeville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still waiting for something to impress me.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I have only eaten there a few times but I am still waiting for a good reason to love the place. The food is decent but not great. The service has not been what I would have expected. It has a good reputation but I haven't seen quite why yet. I have never left thinking "I will never return" but never really think "man would I love to go to Jimmy's". If I am going to go out I would pnrobably look for more exciting fare but would not put up a fuss if my crowd wanted to go there. Portions are big, there specials are a good value and you likely to run into a friendly face or two in there. Go at least once and decide for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    23
    30
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Mmmmm, chicken. Don't forget the rolls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Jimmy's has become a regular stop for us on our way to the Delaware beaches. The fried chicken is excellent - crispy, juicy and not greasy. The dinner rolls that come along are almost worh the stop alone. Cole slaw is rich and creamy. Mac and cheese is ordinary. I've also had the burger which was worthwhile if you don't care for fried chicken - but the fries were underwhelming.

The baked goods are old-fashioned, heavy and very tasty - maybe because they make them with butter. We're fond of picking up cinnamon rolls for the next morning, but they don't usually last that long. The cookies are also very good.

This is memorable family style place worth the stop for the chicken and the baked goods.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST fried chicken anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I wish I lived closer. Stopped at Jimmy's twice over Labor Day weekend - both on our way to the beach and on our way home. Incredible value - our party consisted of four adults & three children, all of us stuffed with food for under 60 dollars. The chicken breast with one side is plenty for a meal, and all of the sides are great. Sweet potato souffle, corn pudding, stuffing, hot chunky applesauce - all were great. And I would have loved to bring home one of the huge pies, or cakes, or sticky buns, or.......

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Essential stop enroute to Delaware beaches.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Jimmy's is a must stop on the way to (or back from) the shore in DE. Extensive menu with just about anything you'd want. Everything is fresh, and really well prepared. Plenty of options for vegetarians too. Pretty good (and pretty reasonably priced) seafood. I had excellent scallops, and got plenty of them too. Best lima beans and collard greens I have had north of the Carolinas. And those deserts in the rotating case up front? They taste as good as they look too. We split coconut cake for desert, quite good, and unlike most coconut cake, not over-ly sweet. Friendly service too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Jimmy's Grill have been around a long time. This is now a new owner. He has improved on the selection and quality. The fried chicken is the best in the state. All the deserts are home made. You will be glad you stopped

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.