We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good general all purpose restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Cafe Restaurant

The Cottage Cafe Restaurant
33034 Coastal Hwy, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
+1 302-539-8710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 66 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good general all purpose restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Cottage Cafe has been around forever, it seems. the food is always consistently good and plentiful. I've heard people dislike the food, but I think for price, generally good quality and creativity, its a definite buy. The restaurant has good variety, a decent large bar and a comfy atmosphere. I've attended business meetings and also sponsored my own large dinner here and was happy with the outcome. The large dinner party kept everyone filled and was served quickly as we had a show to attend afterwards. Service here is warm and friendly.

Summertime finds the restaurant very crowded with waiting lines, but if you don't mind a 45 minute wait, its worth it. Out of season, one gets seated quickly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    94
    53
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“local specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

great food at an even great price. daily specials that will fill you up, be in a price range that you won't find often. the specails are off season prices that they call local , but anyone entering gets the same menu untill i believe mid may . happy hour has nice drink specials too. we eat here or order take out often when we are in bethany beach, de. enjoy

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Family friendly food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Cottage Cafe is a great restaurant for home made type dinners. They are very good for children too. They are famous for their Dune Fries, which are fries topped with everything you can think of!
They have a very nice selection of good salads for those who don't eat dune fries, and other high fat foods. Nice desserts to choose from also. They have a very nice weekend brunch. We go there frequently with big family groups and always enjoy ourselves.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Outstanding Specials, Great atmosphere and Servic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is our second visit here and we will return. I thought the menu was a bit pricey in some areas but the Sunday special (a Turkey dinner) was wonderful and a great value at about eleven dollars. Juicy slices of white and dark meat with gravy, cranberry sauce, a vegetable (I chose creamed spinach), Cole slaw with muffins. It was all excellent and we left stuffed to the gills as they say. I like the atmosphere and the walls are covered with excellent art works for sale. Service was attentive and I cannot think of anything not to like. Shrimp, scallops, and crab are common items found in many of the dishes featured. Check on the special of the day. We were there off season so things might be different during the crowded summer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Sunday @ The Cottage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Cost of dinner entree's are bit high compared to other restaurants with the same menu selections. The difference being the quality and taste:(

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Bethany Beach, DE
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to The Cottage Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.