We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View, Boring Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mango's

Mango's
97 Garfield Pkwy, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
(302) 537-6621
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 66 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a View, Boring Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The view from Mango's deck is terrific. I love it for lunch and to watch the summer crowds. The food is better on the menu than in your mouth. Stay with burgers and standard fare and you won't be disappointed. Inside is fun for the younger crowd. Young wait staff, trying hard to be fun, made the trip worthwhile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    48
    38
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, fun decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The upstairs view from Mango's, sitting right on the ocean, is the best in town. A variety of tropical drinks and dependably good food. We usually come at least once during our week's stay at the beach. Crab cake sandwiches, coconut shrimp, blackened fish -- all good. The bar is lively at night and, if you sit outside, you have a bird's eye (and ear) view of the goings on at the boardwalk entertainment.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude manager, the worst customer service and overall bad experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were celebrating 2 birthday parties for lunch at Mango's in Bethany. Upon being seated we asked if we could kindly have 2 checks - one for each family. Not only did they decline, but the manager was extremely rude and down right nasty. He said if we wanted 2 checks, we would have to sit at 2 seperate tables and could not be seated together or celebrate the 2 birthdays as one group. He said the other options were to have one check or go elsewhere. We are locals and have spent hundreds of dollars here on gift cards for friends and family. That did not matter to them. We understand that policy is policy but there is no excuse for a manager to be so rude to customers. The food was okay for lunch but the fish could have been from a frozen TV dinner. Regular ice tea is not available; only flavored. All but one of our orders was incorrect. This was a horrible experience except that the servers were pleasant. We will never go back and we will make sure we tell all of our neighbors who are also residents of Berhany. Do not go to Mango's in Bethany or, in my opinion, you will be very disappointed and feel like you are in a tourist trap!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“We had a good dinner at Mango's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Neat place overlooking the beach. They did a nice job with the decor, very fun environment. Food and service were good, nothing amazing. I would probably revisit if I am ever again in Bethany Beach.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food and service poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Sandwich was served on stale bread. Music was way too loud, apparently to the servers taste but not the guests. The service was also poor. The only good thing is that you can can get a seat with an excellent ocean view. I tried several times because of the good view but same poor experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango's also viewed

 

Been to Mango's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.