We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food... VERY casual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickey's Family Crab House

Mickey's Family Crab House
39610 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
(302)539-5384
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 66 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful food... VERY casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Love the seafood with a casual atmosphere. A little pricey but the food is great! Downside, they won't split checks when you go with a group. Really casual with picnic tables inside

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Danville, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a perfect crab shack experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For a family visit to the shore with our Chinese daughter-in-law who never had been to an American beach town we wanted to have the quintessential crab shack experience and Mickey's fit the bill perfectly. We ordered the hard shell crabs, which were dumped unceremoniously on the paper-covered picnic table. They were delicious -- well seasoned, firm-fleshed and meaty. (Although other reviewers have mentioned "mushy" crabs, there was nothing mushy about the ones we were served.) We enjoyed making a great mess eating them and had a great time all around. One of our party ordered the "Dueling Crabs" special -- a fried soft shell crab and a broiled crab cake, served with corn on the cob and fries, and reported that it also was excellent. Given how expensive crab is currently, I thought the prices were fair.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to Mickey's specifically for the all-you-can-eat crabs, which did not disappoint. For $38 you can get unlimited crabs (perfectly seasoned with Old Bay) and corn on the cob, and for a bit more a bucket of Coronitas - which go very well with the crab. It's a fun all around experience, but not for the faint of heart or those who have a problem eating with their hands! Also - don't hesitate to ask your server for advice on the best way to get the crabs open. They'll be more than happy to give you a quick lesson!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good service, great Alaskan King Crabs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

What you need when you are craving crabs at the beach! Our server was super busy with a huge table and still found time for our table of 4.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“For families and friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Although we've had hard shells from Mickey's in past years, this time we just wanted a small meal and Mickey's filled the bill. She-crab soup, wedge salad and crab cakes did the trick. All well prepared and tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey's Family Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Mickey's Family Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickey's Family Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.