We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atypical food with over the top taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 14 Global

14 Global
14 North Pennsylvania Ave, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
+1 302-616-1035
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Tapas
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Maryland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Atypical food with over the top taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've been going to Bethany Beach for 25 years and have enjoyed some great food. We were just there for a long weekend and went to 14 Global, a small but well appointed restaurant and fairly new addition for Bethany foodies. Seating was tight for 6 people but it was in a corner. That's it for anything less than positive. The service was really great and the food was fantastic! Owner Tia and chef Sean are to be complimented. This was a culinary event. Appetizer must haves: crab dip & hand-cut french fries (if you like touch of vinegar). Entrees: lollipop lamp chops, halibut, shrimp (we all wanted to try much more). The red sangria is fabulous. Not a place for young children, reservations suggested. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    29
    4
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

With the busy beach restaurant scene and small size of this one, we opted for split tables for our 9 outside to get seated quickly. We ordered quite a variety of starters and entrees - this is a tapas style place so not a big difference in portion and they came out as they were prepared. This was fine with our group as we shared and loved "everything". The octopus was unusually yummy - never had this dish as tender and well seasoned. The vegetarian dish was the only dud - bland. Servers were great, excellent drinks/beers. Good One.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Global 14- Bethany delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a nice experience. It a small restaurant in the heart of Bethany beach. They serve an interesting menu with some different and unusual accompaniments which I enjoyed. I was with a friend so we shared a lite meal. Roasted cauliflower and broccoli and shrimp tacos - all great. Looked like some beautiful halibut and scallops coming from kitchen- as they say " wonderful presentation". Staff was extremely pleasant and willingly to indulge my questions about food preparation. Apparently the chef's experience includes Agave in Lewes which is also great. Felt the prices were fair for the quality of food. No reservations as many beach restaurants but being we sat a bar it worked for us! Not sure on below marked section "outdoor seating" and brunch etc, but required completion for tripadvisor!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Maryland
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

How did this get rated #2 in Bethany? Ordered 4 meals. Two were served 5 minutes before the other two. Service was otherwise mediocre. Different servers brought out food and drink and had no idea which table they belonged at. Portions were very, very, very small. food quality was average. For this level of dining experience, save your money and go someplace like a TGI Fridays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14Global, Owner at 14 Global, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for dining with us if you truly did. I have not been made aware of any unhappy customers. If you did not enjoy your dining experience why wasn't that brought to anyone's attention? I would have found a way to make your night enjoyable. I strive to make sure my customers have a wonderful experience. You never mentioned what 4 different plates/"meals" you had in your post???? We are a small plates/tapas restaurant and each global plate comes out of the kitchen as prepared, as the server mentions in the initial greeting. We don't believe in lining our dishes up under heat lamps and bringing them out on old fashioned trays. We have a quaint kitchen with only 3 chefs who work extremely hard to make sure everything comes out hot & tasty. We also have team service in the dining room. Which means, there are food runners who help deliver food the minute it is finished being plated by our chefs. Also, the menu has a wide array of delicious & unique choices which are priced reasonably ($14-$28 average Global Plate being $22) for the portion and quality you receive. BTW, we would not be #2 on Trip Advisor if our food did not rock!!!!!! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Continues to impress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have to admit this is one of our favorite restaurants at the beach! Last night, everything was amazing. Service was spot on, despite being a very busy summer Sunday. The sweet potato and crab soup was delivered to our table within minutes of ordering it! Porky pig gourmet pizza was over the top and the fish tacos did not disappoint. Loved the blood orange martini and the pineapple pico. I don't like sweet drinks and these are not sweet- just bursting with flavor. Thanks Tia for keeping your place awesome and a place we continue to visit whenever we are at the beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 14 Global also viewed

Bethany Beach, DE
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to 14 Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 14 Global, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.