We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Colony Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Colony Resort
The Marketplace, West Way Drive & Route 1, Bethany Beach, DE 19930   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bethany Beach
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great long weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

Decided to spend long weekend at Sea Colony -beautiful ocean front condo. Lucky to have 2 great beach days ... Life guards too! We have been renting at Sea Coliny for 14 years and are always pleased!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    33
    11
    17
    14
See reviews for
81
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed in a corner unit in the Chesapeake building and loved every minute of it. Beautiful view of the ocean, very clean and spacious. It was off season so we couldn't use the outdoor pool but it did look to be a decent size. I guess the Sea Colony is a gamble because it depends on who owns the condo and how much they take care of it. Overall, it was a very enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed at 903 Singles Court. Upon arrival we had to clean the house and noticed quickly that most of the bedding was unuseable. Some bedding had feces and blood on them, none of the sheets were washed And the house was overall not cleaned, not to mention the pet urine smell. The house itself was beautiful . After talking to someone at resortquest about the conditions, they sent out a housecleaner that spoke very little english and didnt understand anything I said.

I thought the house was great but the customer service and the condition of the house was less than desireable. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in the Farragut building on the first weekend past Labor Day. We had never stayed at Sea Colony but wanted to give it a try. The condo was a very nice layout and the view of the beach was excellent. The condo desperately needs updating but was clean and very serviceable. The pools and access to the beach are great. There must be 1,000 apartments in nine buildings along the beach at Sea Colony, not to mention the many townhouses across Route 1 from the beach. We kept trying to imagine what it must look like during the summer high season and decided that there would be too many people with too many kids - and just not enough facilities to keep everyone happy. However, we will definitely go back in the offseason.

Room Tip: Look for a condo looking north from the Farragut building, The view is quite sweeping up the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My family of 4 stayed in Sea Colony. The size of the condo was very comfortable and it was nice to have a washer and dryer. The location is perfect to the beach and indoor pool. The resort overall needs updating. There is not much of a review of the resort activities rather a here's the resort's playbook read for yourself. The resort fee of $35 per person over 4 did not include beach chairs/umbrellas. The 2 bedroom condo was also in need of updating esp the appliances. The master bedroom has no TV. I had to inform the rental agency that the tub areas were full of mold and that they would contact the cleaners. Bethany Beach down town area is very cute/ quaint, walkable from the resort, had a nice playground. Ate at Mangos which was ok and Grotto Pizza which had good food, wonderful and warm service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

First of all, we had to stop at three different places to pick up keys to the condo, a parking pass, and the recreation badges. The customer service at all three locations was horrible. Then, when opened the rickety screen door to the unit (We rented Condo #6006 on Briton Trail) we were greeted with the overwhelming stench of mold and mildew. We immediately drove to the store to pick up cleaning supplies. Oh - did I forget to mention that the unit wasn't cleaned? We cleaned the entire place and sprayed lysol throughout the entire condo just to get rid of the smell. None of the outets worked in the bathrooms and only one outlet worked in the bedroom. The dryer took 3 hours to dry a small load of laundry. The lamp in the master bedroom was broken and looked like it was picked up off the curb from someone's trash. The remote to the dvd player did not work. The furniture on the porch was turned over and drenched from the weekend's storm. Clearly, no one bothered to straighten up the unit before we arrived. We will never stay in this unit or any of the Sea Colony resorts again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewSeward, Owner at Sea Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Please remember that Sea Colony is individually owned condos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in 3803 tiebreaker court decent little place. Overall cleanliness o.k. except for the 2 inch thick pile of dust on the ceiling fan in the bedroom. Great location! Quiet little area, great beach, much cleaner and more relaxing than O.C. Great amenities. Came with just my husband this year but am definitely already thinking about bringing my two toddlers next year. Very child friendly! overall would give it a 3.5.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Colony Resort

Address: The Marketplace, West Way Drive & Route 1, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bethany Beach
Also Known As:
Sea Colony Hotel Bethany Beach
Sea Colony Delaware
Sea Colony Bethany Beach De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Colony Resort to your Saves list