We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meris Gardens-Bethany Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meris Gardens-Bethany Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Meris Gardens-Bethany Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
33309 Kent Ave, Bethany Beach, DE 19930 (Formerly Westward Pines)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice place off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

nice rooms
free WiFi
no breakfast
quite a bit from the beach but calm, shady and nice

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
23
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whiteford, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

At the last minute, I decided to join other family members who were going to Bethany Beach. They had already chosen Westward Pines motel since it was so reasonable and recently renovated and a 15-minute walk to the beach/boardwalk. Dexter and Mary, the owners, were extremely accommodating to make our 4-day stay more enjoyable, always greeting us by name and asking if we needed anything. I loved the end room with its own deck and large sliding glass doors on two sides. Family members had two additional rooms which were all nicely decorated and clean but mostly we hung out together on the deck when not on the beach (that is, after lighting a citronella candle and a provided torch to deter mosquitoes. Honestly, it felt like we had the place to ourselves and were treated like special guests. To sum it up: Westward Pines is a quaint, small, private, quiet, clean and comfortable motel with great customer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We decided on a trip to the Bethany Beach area last minute. This quaint motel was the perfect place to stay. It is within walking distance of the beach & boardwalk which saves on parking fees. It is newly renovated & very clean. The owners are wonderful & extremely helpful. They are very friendly & go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend staying at Westward Pines Motel if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing beach vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Excellent place to relax and control your stay outside the 'worldly' beach area. Nicely renovated old style motel with a helpful owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I found the Westward Pines motel when searching online for a nice place to stay while in Bethany, and my girlfriend and I decided to give it a try. We were very impressed with the motel upon our arrival. The new renovations look astounding; each room is up-to-date with flat screens, beautiful furniture, etc., and the complex as a whole was so clean and looks brand new. We had to check-in very later (after midnight), but that was not a problem and the staff made special arrangements for us. Additionally, the staff was extremely friendly and made sure we were happy with everything. The motel displayed the best customer service I have experienced in a long while.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2004

Two years ago, my ex and I were to Bethany Beach and had decided on Westward Pines because it was so close to everywhere you needed to go, plus it advertised spa bathtubs in the rooms. When we got there the room was really nice-sized. The tub was only big enough for one person, but it had a shower separate from it also. It was like having your own small cabin! We actually had a deck that was nice...the unit next to us was empty, so we had the place to ourselves. There was plenty of shadey trees, and bushes around..you were out of the sun for a while. There are rooms also for in the colder months with fireplaces in them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meris Gardens-Bethany Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meris Gardens-Bethany Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33309 Kent Ave, Bethany Beach, DE 19930 (Formerly Westward Pines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meris Gardens Bethany is Bethany's only Dog-Friendly, Boutique Bed & Breakfast nestled in the woods, just a 15 minute stroll/4 blocks to the trolley (Bethany Proper stop)& the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. All 14 rooms are completely renovated to give a New England Cottage Feel.Relax in our group Meris Lodge. Stay in one of our single, or double rooms for a night, a weekend, a week, or longer! Rooms Feature: Check In Gift Free Lite Breakfast Full Bath Refrigerator Coffee Maker Wi-Fi HD-TV's Daily Housekeeping General Manager's Happy Hour Snacks (BYOB) Dog Friendly Meris Lodge Common Area Step outside your room and relax in our beautiful gardens with a good book or stroll into town via quiet, tree-lined streets. We also have free bikes, on site, for the explorer in you. P Extended stays welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westward Pines Hotel Bethany Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meris Gardens-Bethany Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.