We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bethany Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bethany Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The weekend of April 25th, I stayed here and was thoroughly happy. The town was bustling with the 25th Ocean to Bay Bike Tour. The hotel was full of cyclists. The front desk offered suggestions for early morning restaurants (we decided to not go to). Our room was clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff, especially Nellie, was very accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was full on! Scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, pancakes, muffins, cereal, juice, milk, coffee just to name a few. Will most certainly stay there for our return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Phyllis D,
Many thanks for your high rating and for choosing our property for the 2014 Ocean to Bay Bike Tour. We love this event and enjoy hosting the participants. It's great to hear you had so much fun. We would also like to thank you for commending a valuable company employee. I can assure you that made her day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    96
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
74
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice Holiday Inn about one half block from the beach with a hot breakfast included. They also had free wifi. We arrived early and the reservations clerk allowed us to check in early. The place is a little hard to find using by GPS. Just look for the sign on Route 1.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Laura,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback on your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast and that we were able to accommodate your early check in request. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in Bethany Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is less than 1/2 mile from the center of town. We stayed a couple of days (Sat. to Mon) in mid-April so it was still off season at the beach so parking at the beach was a breeze. The hotel room was large with a separate set back area containing a fridge, sink and microwave and coffee maker--very convenient. Free breakfast was very good-lots of choices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cute touch: they have soft and firm pillows and the pillowcase identifies which is which! I'm sure the hotel fills up quickly for summer season- so book early!!

Room Tip: Elevator runs very slowly, use the stairs, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Holiday Inn Express bedding and our breakfast buffet as well. April is a great time to spend some time at the shore before the rush of the summer season. We hope you will find time to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Clara was warn and made us feel at home in her breakfast parlor. We asked for a seafood restaurant recommendation and they recommended "Off the Hook". It was superb! The hotel was easy to find and walking distance to the beach. We will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Like others I have a place in Bethany-- but because of renovations needed a place to stay. What a nice hotel. The price is right, the people are SO nice, and the room was spacious, clean, comfortable and nice. It is nice to know a hotel like this is near us for friends and family. It is also located in a great spot so you can walk to the beach and to the town center

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Many thanks for recommending us to your friends and family! We are happy to have had the pleasure of hosting you while your beach retreat was being renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Bethany twice now in the off season, recently in Mar. 2014. The hotel lobby and rooms are very clean; there even seems to be a nice scent to the lobby. The breakfast is simple self serve style but pretty comprehensive. There are scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, great biscuits, juices, yogurt, apples,etc. It's frankly just as good as some of the local (but perhaps less fun) breakfast places. The lobby has homemade chocolate chip cookies each afternoon.
What really stands out is the service. Any staff we encountered were attentive and genuine. I left my raincoat and they mailed it to me immediately. It's not a charming inn or B&B but a very good value and nice surprise. We'll return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
How wonderful to hear your recent experience will keep you coming back! The scent you detected in the lobby is specific to our Holiday Inn Express family and definitely a nice welcome touch. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast bar and the hospitality of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I had to run to Delaware for one evening. We have usually stayed in Rehoboth Beach but a friend had recommended the Holiday Inn Bethany Beach because of convenience to where we needed to be as well as for the value. It's about 10 miles from Rehoboth and about 10 miles from Fenwick Island.

The hotel itself from the outside is relatively non-descript but the inside is tastefully furnished. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, extremely helpful, both in terms of offering directions as well as restaurant recommendations proactively. The room was quite large, extremely clean, showed little to no wear, and very quiet. They also offer a choice of soft or firm pillows on the bed, clearly labeled. The bathroom was also fairly large, well appointed, they didn't skimp on the towels and very clean.

Free hot breakfast is offered each morning though it's a typical eggs, bagels, cereal - enough to take the edge off hunger but hardly something to write home about.

The view from the hotel is average for this type of property - overlooking a large condo complex - not a big deal for the price.

We would definitely both recommend this property and will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are thankful to your friend for having recommended our property and we are very pleased to hear we lived up to the expectations. Our location between Ocean City and Rehoboth Beach is indeed a feature appreciated by a lot of travelers as it gives them the opportunity to stay in a quiet and comfortable location, while being able to explore the surrounding areas. Please keep is in mind whenever you return to the Delaware shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Address: 39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach!The Holiday Inn Express, just 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Delaware's 'Quiet Resorts', puts you in the heart of it all! Just a few short blocks away from the famous Bethany Beach Boardwalk, you're central to everything Bethany Beach has to offer; including bountiful tax-free downtown shopping, renowned restaurants, Bear Trap Dunes, Salt Pond, and just miles from Fenwick Island, Ocean City, Rehoboth Beach and the Cape May-Lewes Ferry. Whatever your reason for visiting, you'll find our well-appointed, luxurious guest accommodations are fitted with the modern amenities and conveniences sure to meet your every need. Awaken each morning to a free full hot breakfast, featuring a wonderful variety of both hot and cold selections from which you can choose. Our thoughtful amenities such as free wireless internet access, sparkling outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, plush Simply Smart linens and award-winning shower heads help ensure each night is a great night and every day starts out right!No matter your reason for visiting Bethany Beach, the Holiday Inn Express is here to make your visit to a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Hotel Bethany Beach
Holiday Inn Bethany Beach
Bethany Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.