We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Off the Hook

Off the Hook
769 Garfield Pkwy, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-9717
+1 302-829-1424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: OFF THE HOOK is located in Bethany Beach, DE. Our menu centers around the "ocean & farm to table" concept. Please come in and enjoy great food and a full beer, wine and liquor selection. * Fresh * honest * local *
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food is delicious. The atmosphere is quaint and the service is spectacular. Love this place and will return again and again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    72
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We're hooked on the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This small dining room filled quickly as the dinner hour approached, and this was during the dead of winter. We soon discovered why. The food was tasty for both seafood and meat lovers. As we browsed the menu, the waiter brought out dinner rolls glistening with a garlicky onion olive oil. A number of the dishes were a nouveau surf-n-turf, like scallops served on a bed of short rib stroganoff. But everything we had was well prepared, ample and delicious. Best of all were the fresh veggies served as sides to some of our dishes. The fried kale that accompanied my short rib served with lobster studded fingerling potatoes (surf-n-turf again) was sheer smoky goodness, as were the carrots served with my son's chicken. I would add this to your list of places to try for good food in Bethany.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good value but running out of room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times over a period of time. The food is always very good to excellent but it has become more crowded, more tables have been added. May be off season it works when the tourists are gone. The last time my wife and I ended up at table in the hallway to the kitchen with a lot of traffic. We should have walked out when the table was offered. Maybe you have better luck with 4 or more so you are seated in the front.

Last visit we split the crab dip and each had crab cakes and tile fish with strawberry short cake and a terrine. All accompanied by Prosecco.It was a very good food experience but not a great dining experience. A very vibrant bar scene and small dining area creates a significant noise level.

We will probably try again but not in June, July or August. Waits can be long also. There are other options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Really good seafood. I had the seared scallops in a stroganoff sauce with bits of short ribs and mushrooms and paparedelle (sp?) and it was fantastic. The ceasar salad was excellent. The service was very good but robotic (no personality and didn't have a personality to make small talk in an empty restaurant). I would go back for sure. It's a little pricey, but for some really good seafood, it's worth it once in a while.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little off the hook”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant numerous times. The food and service are always great but maybe ownership's opening of other locations is starting to have a negative effect on the management of their original concept. Offering an three course special of regular items from the menu should not result in the white anchovies being omitted from the Caesar salad or the scallop entree being undersized. In addition, some off season flexibility in the seating protocol should be considered. Denying seats until all members of a party of 4 arrive when the only tables available were for parties of 4 seems a bit much. We were very close to deciding to dine elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Hook also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to Off the Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off the Hook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.