We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Crab Restaurant

The Blue Crab Restaurant
210 Garfield Pkwy # D, Bethany Beach, DE
(302)537-4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 66 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elkton Road
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I wasn't impressed with this place. The wait service was friendly, but it was very crowded and tightly packed. Yes the portion sizes are generous, butI didn't think the quality was fantastic; it was more about portion size than taste. I had the crabcakes. I was happy that they allowed you to have broiled or fried and that they had no filler, but they could've been more tender, moist, and flavorable. The mac and cheese was just standard velveeta mac that I make on the stovetop at home. Other people ate the ribs and chicken feast and were just, "meh."

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    36
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beyond
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cakes Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Normally when I order crab cakes I get one, small, overcooked cake that I'm sorry I paid $20 for. However, Blue Crab serves up two billiard ball sized cakes with no filler that are absolutely amazing. I'm now thoroughly spoiled - nothing less than the Blue Crab's standard will do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny. Stop by this place and get the crabs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Crabs, crabs, crabs. I never had such great crab. I always like the blue crab in Maryland, but wow. Can I have more? Yes next time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I am a huge seafood and crab lover, so I hadn't intended to eat fried chicken when we went to a seafood place. However, after reading a lot of the reviews, I saw that everyone raved about it. They were right! This was the best fried chicken that I've ever eaten!! I wish that they had an option where you didn't have to order all you can eat because I really ate a ton more than I needed to! My sister in law also got a delicious seafood pasta dish. The only downside was that the place was very busy and the service took a while, which means a lot when you are dining with children. However, the food is worth the wait!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“the crabs were good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were there on Labour Day. The were several seats in the frot but they waanted to sit us in the back by the restrooms. When we asked if we could sit in the many open tables in the front, we were toldd they were reserved. I was ready to leave but my husband spoke to a manager, who was able to seat us in one of the "reserved" spots.

We ordered the all you can eat crabs. To my amazement the food was really good. For $37 we got medium crabs that were seasoned with the sweetest white meat. The all you can eat corn on the cob was excellent as well. Surprisingly so was the chicken. The hushpuppies were dry.

I plan to go again in the end of September to se if the quality of the food is the same. This time i will make reservations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Crab Restaurant also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to The Blue Crab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Crab Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.