We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bethany Beach jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Addy Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addy Sea
99 Ocean View Parkway, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930   |  
Hotel amenities
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bethany Beach jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Addy Sea in June of 2014 to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in Room #4 which was very comfortable, clean and attractive. No TV in the room which was great. Staff was friendly but not overly welcoming. The B&B is located right in Bethany. Short walk to their boardwalk and shopping. We enjoyed the breakfast, the Washington Post in the sitting room first thing in the morning, complimentary soda and waters. We also enjoyed the pleasant wraparound porch where we did some reading and relaxing after day at the beach. We really enjoyed our stay at this fantastic property.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the room with ocean view would be best. Room 4 is terrific though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Addy Sea in June of this year. I specifically picked the Addy Sea because it was a 'Bed and Breakfast'. We have stayed in B&Bs throughout the US and Europe with some of the best being in the UK. The beauty of a B & B is its personal touch - the owner interacts with you, talks to you about the local history and points of interest. Yes they generally are more expensive but what you get in return (usually) is worth the extra expense. Addy Sea is not a B & B - it is by any definition a small hotel offering breakfast - it lacks the charm and warmth of a B & B. We found the staff to be 'matter of fact'; in one case quite brusque. It's tough because there are not a lot of options in Bethany Beach but if you are looking for the real B & B experience I encourage you to look around at other options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at the Addy Sea during the March Blizzard. They opened the liquor cellar for us. We were there with three other couples and we had a blast. This is the oldest structure on Bethany Beach and it is charming. The rooms are comfortable and clean with breakfast included. You can walk right out to the water and also into the small town.

Room Tip: rooms 6 and 7 have a great water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've stayed at the Addy a few times in the past 8 years (you can't beat watching the sun or moon rise from your bed!) but I was disappointed in the breakfast this time. Gone were the wonderful breakfast casseroles I remember, just scrambled eggs with cheese each day, what seemed like reheated pancakes from frozen. The brownies at tea tasted "freezery" too. The cheesecake tasted cheap like Sara Lee. As it was a cold week, some freshly made oatmeal, whole grain breads and whole fruits would have been nice for those of us who like to eat healthily. Also, 90 minutes instead of 60 for breakfast availability would be nice, it's a rush on vacation to get what should be a leisurely meal in. It's the little luxuries that are important and it seems like the Addy Sea is scrimping on them. The manager/staff scrimp on smiles too, which would go a long way in making visitors feel welcome. Sometimes I had the feeling I was being tolerated instead of welcomed. Will I still go there, surely, I just hope the place isn't in a steady decline.

Room Tip: Upstairs, all front rooms have heavenly views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We headed to Bethany Beach in the winter- how odd does that make us? We love the beach no matter the season and we researched B and B's in the Bethany Beach area. As soon as we saw the pictures on-line, we knew we had to go.

From the initial emails to the check-in to the awesome gourmet breakfasts, it was just a totally relaxing time away from the rat race. So many rooms to choose from, so little time.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There is only one room that has a TV, room 12. Great big bathroom with jacuzzi tub but no shower; t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had won a charity auction for 2 nights at this B&B and decided to use it for a romantic weekend away in December when my husband was going to run the Rehobeth Marathon. We were in the only room with a television, though we never ended up turning it on. It had its own bathroom, which we prefer. The bathroom had a large jetted tub, but no shower (there was a handheld shower in the tub). The room was very charmingly decorated. We enjoyed talking to the staff and the Innkeeper, who were all very kind and friendly. The breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast room tables were beautifully set. The location is right on the beach, practically, and I only wish the weather had been nicer. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Addy Sea is still the best B&B we've ever stayed in. My boyfriend and I went for our anniversary and it was perfect. Right on the beach, it's an amazing location to get out of our head and just relax. We had a lovely, clean room with a jacuzzi. We were walking distance from the small downtown area where the restaurants are. The owners were great - they provided us with beach towels, chairs, etc. and an awesome old-style breakfast with fresh fruit, oatmeal, eggs, homemade muffins, bacon, you name it. Definitely going back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Addy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addy Sea

Address: 99 Ocean View Parkway, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bethany Beach
Also Known As:
The Addy Sea Hotel Bethany Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addy Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Addy Sea to your Saves list