We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Addy Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addy Sea
Save
You added The Addy Sea to your Saves list
99 Ocean View Parkway, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful as ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our third visit to the AddySea and we were not disappointed. This is a wonderful little B&B on the beach at Bethany Beach. We always go out of season so can't comment on what it is like in summer. At Easter it was quiet and perfect for just relaxing, watching the ocean, reading, taking long walks on the beach. No TV but wifi in the public areas. The rooms overlooking the ocean are the best, No 6 on the north corner has great views if a little quirky - a shower in a closet, a toilet in another and wash basin in the room. But that is what makes this place different. There is a lovely lounge with fire in the winter and the breakfasts are special. The building could do with a little attention , but as we left the contractors were starting on the roof and we were told there are plans to renovate the exterior and add a balcony.

Room Tip: The best, and most expensive, are the three that overlook the ocean, particularly the two corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights in room 11 the first part of November 2012. At first glance it seemed to be very nice. One concern we had is that they do not have key locks on the doors; when you go out you cannot lock your room so do not leave any valuables in your room. Needless to say when we went shopping we had to keep a lot of things in our car locked up (items we bought, our camera, jewelry, and other valuable items.) There are locks on the inside so you can lock your room at night.The blind looked like it had chewing tobacco on it and the Jacuzzi was not well kept, the sprayer did not work and the bottom of the Jacuzzi was sharp due to some of the covers were missing on the jets; needless to say it took some of the romance away. I will say the breakfast was great and plentiful; it would have been nice if it was a bit earlier since we are early risers. I also thought they would have tried to keep the place as much as possible the same time period but instead they cut corners where ever possible and went cheap.

Room Tip: Look for a sea side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I have had our eye on the Addy Sea for a long time and finally came for a mid-week winter break, taking advantage of the $99/night special. We stayed in room 11 which was lovely with an ocean view and a two-person jacuzzi. The B&B was very quiet at this time of year so we were able to fully relax and enjoy afternoon tea, reading the paper next to the downstairs fireplace and watching the ocean from the front porch. It's a great romantic getaway off season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have stayed here twice, first time on second floor with some beach view, 2nd time - full beach front room. Very cozy, very good food, quiet location. We visited in the off season to just relax, shop, walk the beach, eat at some good restaurants. Short walk to the very small town and boardwalk area. Just wonderful. Btw, they do not have tv's,, which I like very much - there's always someone in vicinity with it on too loud, so - the Addy Sea owners just dropped that option - wise move.

Room Tip: Book early for the 2 front rooms with full ocean view on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent an end-of-summer getaway at the Addy Sea. Not our first stay here, and they never disappoint. It's an older crowd, no kids under 21 allowed. That spells q-u-i-e-t. We highly recommend Room #6 for its ocean-front view and sea breezes. They provide a freshly prepared breakfast (it's a B&B, after all) with a bagged lunch and afternoon tea. Plus guests have their own refrigerator to store their personal food and drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights during a holiday week, and enjoyed the second floor corner room #6 facing the beach and looking north. For a renovated Victorian home and then guest house, the king bed was very comfortable, room had a seating area, air conditioning was great despite very hot weather, towels plenty and soft, and a small but private toilet, shower stall and sink. The sloping and occasional squeaking floors provided the historic character, along with old photos of the place from the early 1900's, but the free the wi-fi was great. The parlor and dining room were comfortable and cool with lots of comfortable wingbacks, and the wrap around porch was great for reading in a rocking chair or eating a meal at a wicker chair and table. The place sits amidst green lawns and flowers right behind the dune, and the beach is wide and sand soft and clean. Beach towels and chairs are provided, and umbrellas can be rented on the other side of the dune. The breakfasts were great, with 6 types of fruit, muffins and toast, an egg dish, breakfast meat, pancakes or waffles, and juice and coffee/tea. Good sandwiches were provided for lunch on request. Afternoon tea was served with baked goods. Coffee and tea, water and soda, and chips are available all day. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and the other guests also happy and chatted, including a couple planning their wedding at the Addy Sea, a mother & daughter, two friends, and several couples younger and older. Overall, it was a relaxing and very nice stay, and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Loved my experience here. The hotel staff was super helpful and very generously helped me surprise my girlfriend with a bottle of champagne. We stayed during a march getaway from Philadelphia and made thorough use of the en suite hot tub. Breakfast was top notch. The inn is set up in a way that really facilitates guests' interacting. Would love to return again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Addy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addy Sea

Address: 99 Ocean View Parkway, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bethany Beach
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Addy Sea Hotel Bethany Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addy Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.