We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addy Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addy Sea
Save Saved
You added The Addy Sea to your Saves list
99 Ocean View Parkway, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930   |  
Hotel amenities
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent an end-of-summer getaway at the Addy Sea. Not our first stay here, and they never disappoint. It's an older crowd, no kids under 21 allowed. That spells q-u-i-e-t. We highly recommend Room #6 for its ocean-front view and sea breezes. They provide a freshly prepared breakfast (it's a B&B, after all) with a bagged lunch and afternoon tea. Plus guests have their own refrigerator to store their personal food and drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights during a holiday week, and enjoyed the second floor corner room #6 facing the beach and looking north. For a renovated Victorian home and then guest house, the king bed was very comfortable, room had a seating area, air conditioning was great despite very hot weather, towels plenty and soft, and a small but private toilet, shower stall and sink. The sloping and occasional squeaking floors provided the historic character, along with old photos of the place from the early 1900's, but the free the wi-fi was great. The parlor and dining room were comfortable and cool with lots of comfortable wingbacks, and the wrap around porch was great for reading in a rocking chair or eating a meal at a wicker chair and table. The place sits amidst green lawns and flowers right behind the dune, and the beach is wide and sand soft and clean. Beach towels and chairs are provided, and umbrellas can be rented on the other side of the dune. The breakfasts were great, with 6 types of fruit, muffins and toast, an egg dish, breakfast meat, pancakes or waffles, and juice and coffee/tea. Good sandwiches were provided for lunch on request. Afternoon tea was served with baked goods. Coffee and tea, water and soda, and chips are available all day. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and the other guests also happy and chatted, including a couple planning their wedding at the Addy Sea, a mother & daughter, two friends, and several couples younger and older. Overall, it was a relaxing and very nice stay, and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Loved my experience here. The hotel staff was super helpful and very generously helped me surprise my girlfriend with a bottle of champagne. We stayed during a march getaway from Philadelphia and made thorough use of the en suite hot tub. Breakfast was top notch. The inn is set up in a way that really facilitates guests' interacting. Would love to return again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We choose this B&B for a nice quite Easter getaway after a rough few months. Great choice, great breakfast, good location. We stayed in room 9, had wanted room 12 but was booked. Our room had a better view. Only room 12 has a tv, at first we thought it was ok, but by the second day we did miss the tv, but we had internet so that helped. we did rest, and we needed it. everyone was very nice. room very clean. just wish we had tv!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I followed up a week in DC with a quick jaunt to the shore in Bethany Beach, DE. The Addy Sea was the prefect place for a retreat. We stayed in room #6 with a lovely view of the ocean. It didn't matter that the weather was a bit nippy, we had a relaxing, lovely time at the Addy Sea. There are many rooms with great views, lots of period furniture and old pics. Our room had a whirlpool spa for two, so that was lovely. We were within a 5 minute walk to the strip, and lots of great restaurants all around. What was especially nice was their accommodation of my challenging gluten-free diet. They took extra care to have a breakfast I could enjoy without concern and even made me gluten-free CUPCAKES for tea! This was so thoughtful and I was so touched. I did not ask for any special accommodation and they went out of their way - so lovely. In this special place, we were able to relax and enjoy all the shore has to offer. Thanks to Maggie and all the great staff - we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Get one with a ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This past July 10 was my 23rd being married to my wonderful bride so I wanted it to be special and a bit different. We are in many ways polar opposites. I like pools. air conditioning and lots of creature comforts while the Mrs. prefers the Ocean, sleeping in a straw bed in a beach hut somewhere off the beaten path. We each compromised a little and spent a long weekend at a fabulous B & B on the Oceans doorstep in our new favorite state of Delaware. The room was like being on the set of a period movie and the surrounding beach town had a newness and energy which made for a whole other experience. The Addy Sea was as advertised. GREAT

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city ut. u.s.a.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spent two nights at this gloriously situated b/b. Think of victorian home, all the bells and whistles as far as the furnishings are concerned. Think of the beach right OUTSIDE the house and your window, if you are fortunate enough to get a sea view. Think of good china and a fine assortment for breakfast. My cousin married on the beach this weekend in perfact weather on the sand. Think of wrap around porch and gingerbread on the house. Think of a lazy breakfast in or outside and then wonderful beds and well appointed bathrooms. I am sure in summer this beach resort is overcrowded, as all are, but in October... dont think about not going, just do it and book the Addy Sea...you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view, open the windows and blinds and just listen and breathe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Addy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addy Sea

Address: 99 Ocean View Parkway, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bethany Beach
Also Known As:
The Addy Sea Hotel Bethany Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Addy Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.