We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course

Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course
1042 Howell School Road, Bear, DE 19701
+1 800-971-8271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Bear
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It’s not in the dictionary, but if it was, Go Ape would be described as a ‘tree top adventure’.That means we build giant obstacle courses up in the trees using ladders, walkways, bridges and tunnels made of wood, rope and super-strong wire, and top it all off with the world's best zip lines.We then equip people with harnesses, pulleys and carabiners, give them a 30 minute safety briefing and training and let them loose into the forest canopy, free to swing through the trees. Of course, instructors are always on hand, regularly patrolling the forests (not in monkey suits unfortunately!)The result is spectacular. The Go Ape experience gets the adrenalin pumping, gets people out of their comfort zones and above all (no pun intended), it’s just great fun.
Bear, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lot's of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Go Ape has been here for a year. Last year (2013 when they opened), I ended up going 4 times with different sets of friends and family. We had a good mix of people, some adventurous, some afraid of heights, and some not quite as physically fit as others. Every person that I went with had an absolute great time - even those "afraid of heights." Don't be scared or intimidated at all, the instructors are great and teach you what you need to know before you get out on your own. They are all very knowledgeable and go out of their way to make sure everyone is comfortable and confident.

The harnesses hold well and you do feel safe throughout. The trees flex, as trees do, but any time you are off the ground at all you are connected to a safety wire to minimize any potential of an accident.

My suggestion is to make an appointment and go even if you don't feel it may be right for you. They let you go through the hands-on safety coarse before deciding if you'd rather sit it out and get a refund but go with an open mind, you might just surprise yourself with how much fun it is!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time in trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have gone to Go Ape at Lums Pond in Bear, DE, 2 times. Both times had an excellent time. Will do it again next summer. Lots of parking, excellent instructors, clean/no litter on course, very safe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“A great way to spend our Saturday!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are locals (we live in Newark, DE) and we decided to check out the brand new Go Ape course in Delaware. It was one of the best Saturday afternoons we've had all fall!! Upon arrival we were fitted with harnesses and then completed two mini-practice courses with careful instruction by the guides. At first the DIY nature of the course seemed daunting but it was very easy to remember what to do with signs at every new section of the course. It was actually a relief to not be guided with the same group for three hours. The entire course is a lot of work, so don't be fooled into thinking this will be a walk in the park. We chose to do the "extreme" paths where we had the opportunity and were so glad we did! We left the course dirty and sweaty but with a great sense of self-satisfaction. We can't wait to come back in the spring!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I was very pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I went with some of our boy scouts troop, about 20 of us. From begining to end it was all so wonderful. Very pleasant people with great personalitys and very professional. The course was amazing to say the least. Most of these places you just bascially walk from one zip line to the next, well not here! It is quite the chaallenge and way up there! The tarzan swings were off the hook! It is ata pond/lake. You get to cross that lake 4 times via zip line! I highly recommend this place. In my opinion it is a great value. Have fun and go ape!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time With Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Go Ape Course at Lums Pond was awesome. From beginning to end, the staff were friendly, encouraging, and helpful. Since it was November, the trees in the park were in full color, so the autumnal hues and the views of the sparkling pond really could not get any better. The course itself was challenging, yet at a level that everyone in our group of six was able to accomplish with success. There are many different route options in which you can choose the "moderate" or "difficult" path based on each individuals' bravery and athleticism. The cost seemed a little steep at first, but it was worth every penny. We will definitely be back!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course also viewed

 

Been to Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.