We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 40 Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Route 40 Diner
1705 Pulaski Highway, White Clay Shopping Center, Bear, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Bear
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went there on a Saturday after a busy day. By 7:30 in Delaware, restaurants are generally mopping the floors for the night, but they were still busy. Ordered 3 dinners, 2 off their specials, baked flounder and chicken marsala. Daughter had chicken fingers, seemed to be made fresh, not frozen. All portions huge, but not at the price of quality.

Came with either a cup of soup or salad bar. Side dishes were the one weak spot. Salad bar was not huge, but was well stocked for that time of day. Key ingredients were all there: mixed lettuce (I hate just iceberg), fresh grape tomatoes, cukes, onions, chick peas, peppers,shredded cheese, etc. Also very nice potato salad, cole slaw, macaroni salad and Italian pasta salads. I could go on.

Desserts looked nice, but we never got there. Breakfast also available all day. Service was friendly and attentive. Considering we dropped by in a too tired to cook moment, we will be back or at least for take out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“We eat here frequently since hong kong buffet closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Porttions are great. The quality of the food is great. It is the best restaurant in Glasgow; and by far one of the best in Delaware. The service is generally good to excellent. The manager is very nice. We fill up on the salad bar, and take much of the entree for later.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Meal was excellent made a really good Turkey BLT forgot the mayo though :) fries are excellent great quality!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not all that”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Salad bar was good, but that was it! My hot food was COLD & looked like they sat on the bread after removing the crust! The cake had absolutely NO taste!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Great salad bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The restaurant has a Bear address but is actually on the far east side of Glasgow, almost in Bear. It is located about 2 miles east of Fox Run Shopping center, and about 3.5 miles east of the center of Glasgow, and about 4 miles west of Bear itself. It is on the westbound side of highway 40 just west of Salem Church Road. We tried it because of it was in the millions of direct mail coupons we receive weekly. The coupon was for $5 off an order of over $25. Well we tried it and we will be back for more. The bill was $27 without any alcoholic/ or non-alcoholic beverages. We drank tea and coffee earier in the day, and didn't need either one. For the money I tried the meatloaf (three big pieces) with fries and mixed vegetables, and my husband tried the flounder ( a big piece) with sea scallops and four big pieces of shrimp, also with fries and mixed vegetables. We filled up on the salad bar, and took most of the food home with us. The srever we had could have been friendlier (maybe he had a bad day), but other employees seemed to be friendly. A must try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 40 Diner also viewed

 

Been to Route 40 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 40 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.