We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough Hotel, but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 Pulaski Highway, Bear, DE 19701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Arlington, Virginia, USA
1 review
“Nice Enough Hotel, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

need more than one bath towel and maid service betwen the first and second nights. Otherwise OK, though the extra hour of breakfast on weekdays would be a nice addition too. Relative quiet. Good Sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We thank you for choosing to stay with us, the Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn. It appears that your room got over looked by housekeeping and this incident has been addressed and corrected with the housekeeping staff. Regarding breakfast; it does start early for our early morning patrons and we do have the extended hours on weekends. We hope you will look us up again when you visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    57
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
43
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Clean looking outside and in. But it had a odd smell when we walked in the lobby and in the room. Lobby smelled like someone was cooking ham and cabbage. The room and the bathroom where clean but the bathroom smelled like it had been cleaned with a dirty mop or mop water.
Everyone was friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn. Regarding your experience of the food odor in lobby area may be that one our guests might have used the breakfast area to warm up their food, However your point is very valid. We consider the need to install an air freshening device in the lobby area. Our housekeeping staff have been made aware of your experience of the unpleasant smell in the bathroom area and have taken necessary corrective action to eliminate this issue.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stay for two days recently in December over the holidays and it was a nice place. The breakfast was ok but expected that for the money spent and also had plenty of variety. Place had a great indoor pool and spa that were both clean and warm/hot. Rooms had very nice furniture and nice beds and t.v's and were also very clean. Would return if in the area once again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I
am grateful that you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction and reviewing us.

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to
continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Newark/ Christiana Inn. The next time you are in Newark/Christiana we look forward to your return.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This Best Western is well-positioned as a stop-over for those driving from New York into the South on I 95. We left New York City after
dinner and arrived about 10:30 pm thus avoiding rush hour traffic in New York and Philadelphia/Wilmington. We left about 9 am and made it straight through Baltimore, Washington and Richmond on I 95 before their evening rush hours. We arrived in North Carolina in time for dinner. We chose this motel because it was much better priced than other motels closer to the exit ramps in I 95. It is a well-run, recently renovated facility with an enticing indoor pool and hot tub which we wish we had had the time to enjoy.

The easiest directions are to stay on I 95 past the group of exits immediately after the Delaware Memorial Bridge and continue to exit 4A to get over to Route 1. Take Route 1 to its exit 160 and make a left at the bottom of the off ramp onto Route 40 east. If coming from the south, take exit 4A onto Route 1. Then take its exit 160. Once off the exit ramp, make a U-turn at the next light to enter the parking lot.

We look forward to staying there again.

Virginia D'Antonio

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for enjoying our hotel recently. We thank you for your comments and great directions help. We look forward to you choosing our hotel for many more future stays.

Thank you and Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place was located conveniently for us while visiting family. Our first night was ok but I couldn't figure out why I smelled like an ash tray. The second night explained the ash tray. We kept getting bursts of stinky smoke coming through the air vent in the bathroom. I called the desk twice and was told they couldn't find anything.
No one ever came to our room or offered to change our room.
Upon check-out, we were given a 10% discount. If We had smoked in the room we would have been charged $100.00. Where is the equity in that?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I appreciate your taking the time to write a survey and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations, service and consideration we strive for with all our guests – the type of service we pride ourselves in. I have investigated your comments and will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. My staff will also be made aware of your comments and we will all take immediate corrective action. We did give you the discount on both of the nights you stayed. Although we know that a discount cannot make up for the smoke smell in the bathroom but to compensate for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus the next time you are in Bear, DE. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service. Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn

Address: 875 Pulaski Highway, Bear, DE 19701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bear
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.