We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish on the Green

Fish on the Green
Church Lane, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4EJ, England
01622 738300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Bearsted
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Medway
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was an experience long overdue, a restaurant with a fine reputation. It was worth every syllable.
The scallops were a delight, and the lemon sole thick, moist and full of flavours.
What's more it is next to one of the oldest cricket grounds in the world.
We shall return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    73
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We took our friends to celebrate their 25th Wedding Anniversary. To say they were impressed would be an understatement! Everything was absolutely wonderful. I don't like peanut butter but the other 3 diners had the peanut butter parfait. Well, one said it was the best dessert they had ever tasted and another said they never wanted it to end. Well done everyone at Fish on the Green. A memorable occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We visited Fish on the Green to celebrate the birthday of our elderly aunt. As we live in Wiltshire and our aunt in Sidcup, we chose the restaurant after seeing the Tripadvisor reviews and once again it has helped us find an excellent eatery. We took advantage of the two course lunch deal (a three course deal is also available), our aunt choosing plaice on a bed of spinach, served with potatoes, whereas my wife and I had the cod and hand-cut chips, with fantastic mushy peas and lovely fresh tangy tartar sauce. We each had a desert, which unsurprisingly after the quality of the main courses, were simply to die for. The staff were very good and left you alone to enjoy your food, whilst managing to check that everything was okay. A restaurant this good obviously gets busy, so make sure you reserve a table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never fails to be brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went to the restaurant for our wedding anniversary and as per usual the food, service and ambience is faultless. The staff (Helen & Pip) are always polite, discreet, there when you need something and consistently deliver brilliant service. The food is amazing and we have always had beautifully cooked, hot delicious meals here. Would highly recommend it

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

First time of visiting this wonderful restaurant, but it won't be the last! Friendly, helpful staff who were there when you wanted them but were not intrusive on us at all, great service all round and the food was excellent! The menu is fantastic with a fair choice to choose from, and the portions were just right! Lovely for a family celebration or a cosy supper for two!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish on the Green also viewed

 

Been to Fish on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.