We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully cooked and presented food and speed of service just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish on the Green

Fish on the Green
Church Lane, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4EJ, England
01622 738300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Bearsted
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Beautifully cooked and presented food and speed of service just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was Sunday lunchtime family birthday celebration.

Food was lovely, portion sizes just right so most of us could manage 3 courses. Atmosphere nicely relaxed.

I had the hake which was beautifully cooked and the desserts were equally excellent. Chocolate and hazelnut browny with sour cherry sorbet mmm!

Prices seemed extremely fair for such good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    73
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We came here based on the TA comments and because we like seafood a lot. The meal was excellent, and I have to mention the bread was absolutely delicious. Service was very good, but could have done with a bit more smile from one of the waitress. The waiter was fantastic and very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Since there are relatively few seafood restaurants which are not within 2 miles of the coast I was very keen to dine here and I wasn't disappointed. We went for sunday lunch in august and although we were the only diners with children we were made to feel welcome and our preteens treated well. There was a set menu but the restaurant was accomodating and you could choose the set menu and upgrade a course for something on the a la carte, a nice touch we thought.
The children had the cod and chips off the set menu and my husband and I ate A la carte.
The food was fresh, well presented and the ambience was just right. Service was attentive but not obtrusive and I loved the menu so much we are gong back in october for my birthday.
Worth a trip to the quaint village.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yet another great meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This place never fails. Simply stunning food and great service.

We dined here for my Mother-in-laws birthday early on Friday night and as with our previous visits it was as we have always experienced, perfect!

The staff are always welcoming and never in your face. The food is always cooked well and you leave comfortably full, not stuffed.
We had two small children in our party and they made sure that their food was brought out first.

I've no idea if the management ever log onto see these reviews. If they do, I would advise to simply keep doing what they are at present both at lunch and dinner.

The menu doesn't appear to change too dramatically between visits, rather it seems to morph slightly with different ingredients to the main dishes which still gives you several fish or meat dishes to pick from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Quite simply the best (seafood) restaurant in the Maidstone area.
It can be quite noisey but having more artwork on the walls would solve this minor issue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish on the Green also viewed

 

Been to Fish on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.