We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sure Thing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Woodstock Hill

Save Saved
You added Inn at Woodstock Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Woodstock Hill
94 Plaine Hill Rd., Woodstock, CT 06281-2912   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Dix Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Sure Thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed just the one night at the Inn at Woodstock Hill recently and wished it were a longer stay. Everything about the place is top notch. The staff could not be more accommodating, the place is well maintained, the grounds are beautifully landscaped and the food at the restaurant was amazing. The Inn is really in the middle of nowhere so if you are looking for a town or village to explore, this is not the place. Other than that, I do believe that you would not be disappointed here. This is the perfect place for a weekend get-away!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 209 which was very well appointed but all of the rooms looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
36
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I visited this Inn with 2 friends recently, and have been struggling with what to write as a review. The setting is lovely and very pretty gardens, but they need better signage for the parking & entrance - we were really not sure where to go on arrival.The innkeeper took our bags up to our room, which was much appreciated, as they were way up steep stairs in the attic - but we would have appreciated a bit of information about the place - and a warmer reception. The room was lovely, with a sitting area in front of a nice fireplace, however the aircon was less than effective in the sleeping area. Dinner was excellent, and our waitress, Lisa was very helpful & friendly. Finally breakfast - a real disappointment - the croissants were rock hard - they should not have been served at all - in an inn like this, with a restaurant as good, you expect fresh baked goods. So a mixed review, and an average rating. We had a good time, but that was about the food at dinner & the company.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues room 317 is not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Inn is a perfect place to relax and unwind in a beautiful setting. The room was clean and comfortable with a terrific view of the surrounding landscape. Dinner was delicious and the service was great. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I will definitely return and highly recommend the inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Not an overly restful night with my wife and I rolling into the center of the bed. Otherwise nice place in a beautiful setting. Fan in bath is loud and everything is on one switch. We might stay again but being the second best room in the roster it was short of expectations.

Room Tip: May want to avoid 204 at the top of the upstairs landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went to Woodstock with some colleagues for a meeting. The Inn made our business trip into a pleasure! Upon our arrival, we enjoyed the beautiful and peaceful views while sipping coffee on the patio. Later we had a truly gourmet meal, fine wine and a roaring fire in our private dining room. In the morning, the work began and we had a very comfortable conference room in which to work. I am sure that many people escape to the Inn for a romantic weekend but I was surprised how suited this location was to our needs. (WI-FI!) As Realtors, we are usually pretty picky about "decor" and we found the Inn to be charming.
Accomodations were roomy and spotless Staff was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Other guests mentioned that the street side of the Inn was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is the perfect inn to stay if you find yourself in this area in the fall. It sits on top of a hill just inside wood stock(which you will miss the town if you blink)! We have stayed here many times as our daughter goes to a school nearby. Each room is different in size, shape and floor. There is also a small cottage with four bedrooms, lving room and a kitchen. There are fireplaces in some rooms and large double beds if needed. The restaurant is good and open for dinner. Breakfast is included in your stay.

Room Tip: Ask about each room as they differ. Some are fairly small, while others have a fireplace and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The grounds are gorgeous with lovely flower gardens. The first floor foyer, lobby, sitting eating rooms are all uniquely, traditionally and beautifully decorated and feel like a country garden as well. We have been several times and have stayed in several different rooms and they are clean and beautiful. The only downside is the window airconditioner unit, which can be loud and takes away from the peaceful feeling you get everywhere else in the inn. The included breakfast is fruit, cereal and pastries and is very nice. The staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Woodstock Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Woodstock Hill

Address: 94 Plaine Hill Rd., Woodstock, CT 06281-2912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended accommodation in Connecticut's Quiet Corner...Located in the Quiet Corner of Connecticut, The Inn at Woodstock Hill is a perfect setting for your wedding service and reception, guaranteed to make your big day a truly special event. You will be impressed by the Inn's indescribable beauty and ambiance, whether you visit for a fabulous wedding, a romantic weekend getaway or a delicious gourmet meal. We offer 21 comfortable guest rooms, each individually decorated, having a variety of amenities including private bath, television, telephone, radio and wireless Internet access, and air conditioning. Six rooms are furnished with four-poster beds, and eight rooms have working gas fireplaces. Lodging at the Inn is open year-round, and our restaurant dining hours are specified below as follows: Lunch Thursday through Saturday, a Brunch sit-down buffet on Sunday and Dinner each night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Inn at Woodstock Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Woodstock Hill Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Woodstock Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.