We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place To Stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curtis House

Curtis House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Curtis House to your Saves list
Curtis House
506 Main St./Rte. 6, Woodbury, CT 06798   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Woodbury B&B and Inns
Woodbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place To Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you are looking for The Hilton or Sheridan type hotel, this is not for you. The building is almost 300 years old and is in great shape for that age. But as with all older buildings, the stairs creek, the floors are slanted and the doors sometimes stick. But that is the character of The Curtis House. It is quintessential New England. It reminds me of my Grand Parents house. The smell of fresh coffee brewing in the morning is awesome. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. All have TVs and for those rooms that share a bath, there is a pedestal sink in each room to freshen up with. I am staying in Room 3 which is off the main hall and my Mother and Sister are in room 1. Room 3 is a small room with private bath but perfect for one person. Room 1 has two large beds and full bath with a claw foot tub. There is free wireless WI-FI through out the Inn.

There are many stories of the place being haunted. Gordon Ramsey recently redecorated room 16 which is considered the most haunted of the rooms. Room 1 has some unique haunting stories as well as does the ret of the Inn.

The Carriage House is a separate building that is perfect for a large family or group. There are four rooms that have the same floor plan. There is a common room at the entrance which is nicely decorated. Downstairs there is a Barber.

There is a sidewalk that follows the Antiques Trail as Woodbury is the Antiques Capitol of CT. The Barn, a fitness club, is located a short walking distance. Lake Quassapaug and the associated amusement park are a 5 minute drive.

As of 6/26/13, a lot of the old favorites are back!! Being as they had to run the short menu for 30 days, those who love the old standby's will be happy once again!! The Short Rib Yankee Pot Roast is, in my opinion, the best item on the menu. Very succulent and tender. Also, for dessert lovers, the Fudge Brownie is incredible but be prepared to share as it is usually too much for one person.

There are two restaurants and 3 dining rooms. All serve from the same menu but have different atmospheres. The Main dining room is appointed with cloth table cloths and is a formal setting as is the Colonial room, also upstairs. The Pub, which is downstairs, is a more relaxed family atmosphere. There is a sit down bar and plenty of tables and booths.

All in all, a great experience. Great food, great staff and a great place to stay if you like Old New England.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in this charming little inn with a sense of history. The staff were very efficient and shared their local knowledge proudly. A very quaint old room with a spacious clean modern ensuite. Good value, included breakfast. Dinner was home-made and we managed to hear all about the menu in detail. A great place to stop and chill out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

During a genealogical tour through Woodbury we stayed at the Curtis House. It was a quaint, charming Inn. Our room was quite small but adequate. The bath was quite large. The bed was comfortable and until the morning traffic started it was a quiet room. I had read about the road noise and felt since we were toward the back of the building we would miss it...not so. The best part was the InnKeeper who was familiar with the town historian and gave me his phone number. She was very helpful in finding locations of sites we wanted to see and when I called the town historian he turned out to be a 10th cousin. How great is that! I would return to the Curtis House again.

Room Tip: Single room down the hall was small and still had road noise. Would have enjoyed being in a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent one night at the Curtis House during a driving trip through eastern states. We had a lovely room with a king-size bed. Very comfortable. Excellent decor; very clean. We ate dinner in the dining room. It was a very cool, rainy night so we enjoyed some comfort food - pot roast and turkey dinner. Lots of antique shops along the route. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I am a very sound sleeper and our room was on the street side. We slept with the windows open and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Inn was very inviting on a rainy evening. Dinner was excellent- succulent oysters and perfectly cooked salmon. Service a bit slow but we weren't in a hurry. Room was small but very comfortable; traffic was load but did not disturb sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have eaten at the Curtis House for over 20 years, and sad to say, the quality of the meal has really gone down hill. We were told that the "kids" had now taken the Curtis House over, and it shows. The service remains good, but the food is not what it used to be. I had the crab crusted tilapia, which had very little crab in the crust, but lots of breadcrumbs. There were more bread crumbs than there was fish.

They are now charging extra for cheese on the Onion Soup - what kind of onion soup does not have cheese on it???

Desserts which were included in the price of the meal were OK, but nothing to write home about. Overall, the Curtis House has now gone from a really great restaurant to an average so so restaurant. Not worth your time nor the money they are now charging.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have the privelage of living in the beautiful Litchfield Hills with an array of fine restaurants and inns but one is my true favorite and that is The Curtis House in Woodbury. If your looking for a spa type atmosphere or a place where your afraid to sit on the furniture, this is not the place for you. But if your looking for an Inn that represents a gentler New England then this is the place for you. I have eaten in both the restaurant and the downstairs City Hall Pub and can attest that after 10 years of patronage I have never had a bad meal. The upstairs dining rooms still serve the all inclusive dinners from relish tray, to soup/salad, main course, and dessert and many of the old New England favorites like Pot Roast, Turkey Dinner, Steaks, Chops, are served along some Seafood specials and lighter fare. But for the same issue that other reviewers found negative I find comforting as yes the Inn is not "brand new" and actually it has quite a past but it is nice to be able to still go out for dinner as a couple or family and not go bankrupt. For lighter fare a full Pub menu is served in the City Hall Pub and is quite an affordable value offering burgers to sandwiches to pizza. The rooms in the inn are simple and comfortable and I have had many relatives stay there when my guest room has been filled. But to me a sign of a good establishment is the "extra" efforts put forth by management and staff as demonstrated by TJ Brennan who upon receiving my call one Saturday morning with me pleading for a room as my well had run dry, was able to accomodate me during her busiest weekend and set me up in the Carriage House. Further she advised she could arrange the schedule so I could use the room until I could "move" back home. If you ask me that is true "Yankee Hospitality". So if your looking for a quick weekend away or a nice good home cooked meal that won't break your wallet then this is the place for you. With the holidays approaching it's also a great place to put up family or friends that may be visiting.

Room Tip: Excellent location off Main Street in Woodbury(CT Route 6) with easy access to I-84. 45 minutes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curtis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtis House

Address: 506 Main St./Rte. 6, Woodbury, CT 06798
Location: United States > Connecticut > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Curtis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curtis House Hotel Woodbury
Curtis House Woodbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curtis House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.