We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Katz's Restaurant Deli

Katz's Restaurant Deli
1658 Litchfield Tpke, Woodbridge, CT 06525-2306
+1 203-389-5301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Redding, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Connecticut magazine highlighted this deli recently. After reading the review we drove an hour from our home and the food was not edible! We often go to New York for deli (2nd Ave Deli, Katz's NY) and the offerings at Katz's in Woodbridge was a complete disappointment. Real NY deli's do not serve sliced pickles and the pastrami sandwich I was served was a plate of Fat - not real deli pastrami. What a sad event since we were so excited to have a deli experience in Ct.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What's not to like??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This review is long overdue as I visited a couple months back and have to say the Sandwiches were awesome!! Had the Pastrami and was piled high and glad I took an extra for a quick dinner. I don't know but to beat this place you have to go some...Way to go Katz!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut, Usa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great food and the portions are enormous. You can hardly finish the sandwiches and salads. We always share an entree. Lively and friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Mile High Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Everything you'd expect from a deli - huge sandwiches, matzah ball soup, and pickles! It's a great stop off the highway.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Jewish Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It's not NYC, but it's well worth the visit if you're in the mood for corned beef, pastrami, chopped liver or matzo ball soup.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katz's Restaurant Deli also viewed

 

Been to Katz's Restaurant Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katz's Restaurant Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.