We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My family's favorite restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Antonio's

The Original Antonio's
205 Amity Road, Woodbridge, CT 06525
(203) 397-8882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bethany, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My family's favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Antonio's is one of the best kept secrets in Woodbridge. Once you go there you will surely return. The food is amazing. Best vodka sauce I've ever tasted. My favorite is when they have a special of filet mignon with lobster in a sauce on top. Wait staff is always pleasant. The owner "Tony" is always there and takes great pride in the food he serves and the service. Make sure you make a reservation, it is jammed on Friday and Saturday evenings. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    13
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven County, CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Can't go worng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We are locals and been to Antonio's MANY times. It's a "go-to" place. Good strong drinks. Excellent food in large portions. I love their fried calimari and the saltimbocca. Also, the chicken parm sub is is a giantic bargain!! Not an particularly large menu...everything well executed. This restaurant is highly recommended (and I'm picky). One caveat---there are a couple of tables in the front that are NOT good---especially in winter. Try to get a table towards the back (or in the small bar). Say hi to Tony!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A cut above the typical family Italian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

From the outside, Antonio's doesn't look like anything special. When you walk in, it seems clean, comfortable, and crowded (at least on a weekend). The food is simply very good--the sauces delectable, the entrees prepared with care. Nothing overly fancy, just the real deal. But what really makes Antonio's a special experience is that it is a true neighborhood restaurant (even though its location in the bank-and-car-dealership stretch of Amity Road is not very prepossessing). If Woodbridge/Westville is your neighborhood, you will see friends there. In any event, you're in for an excellent meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You're family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The first time we walked into Antonio's, without a reservation, we were greeted like long-lost relatives. When we left, we accidentally left our doggie bag on the table. Calling a few minutes later from home, we learned they had thrown it out, and—get this—the manager offered to comp us a dinner for having done so (we turned that down, as it was our fault, not his). Service is consistently warm and friendly. Food is exceptional. Ambiance can be a little noisy on a busy night.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average entre but the vegetables on the plate were the worst I've eaten at a restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We received a gift card for this restaurant, and went for dinner. It was quite busy and the wait staff was fine. We ordered our meal and was surprised when the entree came the vegetables were tasteless and over cooked. That was so disappointing as I really enjoy the vegetables with my main meal. Maybe, something was off that night and we need to try again. The meals are not inexpensive, so it may be awhile before we give this place another go.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Antonio's also viewed

 

Been to The Original Antonio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Antonio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.