We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite breakfast spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Kitchen

Kelly's Kitchen
438 Main St, Winsted, CT 06098-1557
860-738-9828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Winsted
Restaurant details
Winsted, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite breakfast spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Kelly's offers a unique menu for both breakfast and lunch. All of the meals that I have had there have been terrific. Our friends also enjoy to go there, and particularly enjoy the yummy omelet and french toast specials. Give it a try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great homemade hash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stopped in for late breakfast on Saturday. Great omelets, homemade breads and corned beef hash. Huge portions. We didn't try pancakes but they were huge, too. Didn't give it 5 stars because the home fries were dried out and they could have used another waitress. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The quality of this restaurant seems to have gone down significantly over the years because if it had been this bad before I would have never returned. I also saw another negative review that was just recently posted on another website as well. We stopped in for lunch on a relatively quiet day, but there was still a little bit of a wait before we saw a server. We each ordered Kelly's Favorite- a grilled chicken sandwich on homemade bread. It sounded great and we were excited, but then the food arrived. The sandwiches left a lot to be desired- especially if you consider the price. The chicken was literally five tiny medallion slices and looked like the pre-cooked ones you buy at the grocery store. The homemade bread appeared to be previously frozen and tasted freezer burned. It was so dry and crumbly that it fell apart when I attempted to pick it up. I was most disappointed by the side of chips that came with the sandwich. For a restaurant that claims to " believe in using nothing but the finest ingredients in everything we prepare" finding a bag of chips thrown on the plate was not what I envisioned. I wasn't expecting homemade chips, but I also didn't expect a chip bag to be touching my sandwich either. The worst part, though, was that the chips had EXPIRED 10 DAYS EARLIER. At least hide the evidence if you are going to serve old food! How careless! It makes me wonder what other expired food products they are serving. Our waitress never came back to check on our meals after she brought them out. Even when she came to bring us our bill she still never asked how everything was. She only asked if we wanted anything else. No, we never want anything else from this restaurant again. I have told others about this experience and they have also noticed the quality is not what it used to be. Please save your money and do not eat here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Charming Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We came in out of the cold on a weekday for lunch. There's a welcoming gas burning fire in the front room. A busy server greeted us warmly and had us seat ourselves. The place is really charming and comfortable. We both enjoyed the soup and sandwich combos. Both the Tuna and chicken salad sandwiches were tasty with just the right amount of mayo. The soups: The Ham and Cheese Chowder was more like a potato soup. That's not a complaint it was really hearty and delicious. The Cabbage and Pork was more pork than cabbage or soup. It was good just not as good as the chowder. What a nice lunch refuge from the cold.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Charming interior, homemade bread was delicious. No kids menu (in am) made for an expensive breakfast. Friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Took the kids for breakfast. (Our first visit) charming inside, loved the atmosphere and comfortable decor.
Waitress seemed to know the locals and was attentive to their needs, but also was friendly to us. The owner was also present and very friendly and constantly busy.
Disappointed to see they didn't have a kids menu for breakfast. (Big portions, little kids,this led to a $40+ breakfast.)
Not what I was looking to spend on breakfast, that's for sure. (Maybe a $4-$5 kids breakfast with a small drink? Smaller portions? Would be a good offering?)
Overall the portions were good size, the food was delicious, homemade bread very good. Other bakery items looked good too. Overall would try again, just not with the kids at breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.