We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great Candlewood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Ella Grasso Turnpike, Windsor Locks, CT 06096   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Windsor Locks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great Candlewood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Amazing quality of hotel. Great for minimal service though Great Front desk service. Fantastic location across from Bradley Hartsfield Airport and the rental car and long term park and fly spots. Also Airport shuttle great plus. Rooms were large and immaculately clean.Stayed in 305 and it was a large Queen suite room.

Great Stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that your enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you . We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
13
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

the bed was so bad went home with a bad back wanted to leave early no room cleaning daily not enough of choices for breakfast the stove didnt work bad .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I needed a hotel for an extended stay and found Candlewood to be the perfect location, clean rooms, and a very friendly and efficient staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

I had such a pleasant stay at this hotel. Front desk staff was very polite and helpful. The minute I walked into the room it smell fresh and cleaned love the set up of the room it was very comfortable I stayed for 15 nights the first time housekeeping went to service my room housekeeper was very friendly and did a awesome job. I would recommened this hotel it is very accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is far worse than you would ever think. My mother and had to stay there for over a month due to her job and we chose this hotel because of its pet friendly policy, or so we thought. The first couple of weeks were okay, except the cupboard they have here, they gave us seven little coupons and didn't say anything except that we could spend them in the cupboard and that they were not exchangable for cash, the receptionist never once mentioned that we were really supposed to use one a day for the first seven days we were in this hotel. Beyond that, the items you can purchase in the hotel's cupboard are severely over priced, they sell feminine supplies, individually, that the general manager has priced at $1.25! The first couple of weeks, the housekeeper came in and did what she was supposed to do she was very friendly and didn't complain about anything and did a good job, but the week after that, I got a different housekeeper who was very impolite, halfway made the bed, refused to bring back the blankets that we had in the room, she did scrub the toilet, but she went down to her buddy, the head housekeeper, which is also Hispanic, and told her I refused to let her clean the room! The week after that, another house keeper did the same thing, actually less, and went back and told her buddy the same thing the other one did, that I refused to even let her in!! Outraged I called downstairs and I get hung up on because I caught housekeeping in a lie. The staff has poor communication skills and are just rude all together. There was one girl on staff that was fairly nice and I do appreciate her help. They shouldn't advertise that they're pet friendly when they really aren't! Maybe they just figured they could take advantage of us because were southern, I honestly don't know if that's the case, but that's the way it felt. Believe me, I will never stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel period!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairhope, al
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

There are rats outside living in the shrub under the guest laundry window that dive the garbage cans by the front door. Low flying aircraft pass over the parking lot in their landing approach to Hartford International. Emphasize: LOW! This hotel has running water (hot & cold), electricity, and television. Once a week, someone goes in your room and empties the garbage and replaces the towels. When it becomes necessary to visit the front desk to request "once a week" housekeeping, customer service has deteriorated to the point of addressing the issues with the corporate office. I requested a room change due to a neighboring dog but all I got was fleas. Lastly, the beds are so uncomfortable and lack mattress pads.

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

Front desk was very friendly at check in. Room said 2 bedroom suite was actually 2 rooms. Great bang for our buck having 2 bathrooms but we really didn't need the 2nd kitchen. The only thing we were not crazy about is the room aggravated our allergies someone must have had a cat in the room and we did find some hair. But overall this is a great place for a traveling family. Rooms are like new definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks

Address: 149 Ella Grasso Turnpike, Windsor Locks, CT 06096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Windsor Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Windsor Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks offers guests a comfortable extended stay. Conveniently situated near the Hartford Bradley International Airport, the Candlewood Suites Hotel in Windsor Locks, CT offers easy access to downtown Hartford, CT and Springfield, MA, as well as to top area attractions and businesses. Extended stay guests of our pet friendly Windsor Locks hotel can enjoy spending an afternoon at Six Flags New England or the Eastern States Exposition Grounds. Tours of the historic Mark Twain House, the New England Air Museum and the Springfield Basketball Hall of Fame are also less than 12 miles from our Windsor Locks, CT accommodations. While lodging in Windsor Locks, CT, business-oriented travelers can appreciate our hotel near Bradley International Airport and companies such as Hamilton Sundstrand, Ahlstrom, American Honda and Travelers. To best accommodate our guests' business needs, we offer over 900 sq. ft. of meeting space and a 24-hour business center. During your visit, you can enjoy the comforts of home and the convenience of a regular routine. A complimentary area shuttle and free high-speed Internet access are provided, and an indoor swimming pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a DVD lending library and an outdoor barbecue gazebo are also available on-site. As you plan your trip, we hope you will explore our exceptional Windsor Locks hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks Hotel Windsor Locks
Candlewood Windsor Locks
Windsor Locks Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.