We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Costly, but It does worth the experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jomblang Cave

Jomblang Cave
Semanu, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
811 117 010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Semanu
Attraction details
Bogor
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Bit Costly, but It does worth the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place was popularized by Indonesian Cigarette Advertisement and The Amazing Race Show. Located in Wonosari (Jogja Region), about two hours drive from Jogja, this place offers something different than other nature activity in Indonesia.

Google the name "Cahyo Alkantan" to arrange the journey to the center of the earth. The cost is a bit costly (40-50 USD per pax only for 90 minutes ride). When you are about to complain the price, think twice when you have yourself hung on 60 meter elevation, where you can only rely to their men and equipments.

Worry less about the safety, all the gears are properly checked and reliable. Simply just enjoy the ride, and enjoy the Light of Heaven.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and a perfect photo spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked our tour with Mr. Cahyo Alkantan via phone / email. The day before the activity we double confirm our pick up via phone. Our friendly driver pick us up in time and the whole tour was well organised.

Once we received the spot we was served some tea and received our equipment. After a short walk to the cave entrance we was hooked up to go down (around 60m). Inside the cave we walked for around 100-200 meter before we reached the chamber which you can see on most of the photos.

The crew members handle the whole thing very safety and professional.

Thanks to Mr. Cahyo Alkantan and everybody who make our trip possible.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent Light of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For those who loved adventure and challenge outdoor avtivity, this is the perfect place for you to go. Vertical cave with around 60m diameter will give you new experienced of caving. You need to go vertical down for about 60m and 40m sliding trajectory before get in to the cave entrance. Continued walking for around 300m alley inside the cave then you'll get into the best spot of Jomblang Cave called "Light of Heaven", the best time to spot this perfectly is right at the Mid-day. This manficient moment is worth to see after 2hrs driving from Jogja downtown.

Don't worry about the safety, they'll provide you with proper equipment.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where the Light of Heaven exists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

While it may not be that familiar for common tourists, among cave enthusiasts, nature trekkers and backpackers the cave has gained popularity for its outstanding beauty. In 2011, the cave was further introduced to the world as it made an appearance as one of the sites on the CBS TV reality game show, The Amazing Race.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jomblang Cave also viewed

 

Been to Jomblang Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jomblang Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.