We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Lobster Roll!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Fish Market

City Fish Market
884 Silas Deane Highway, Wethersfield, CT 06109
+1 860-522-3129
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Wethersfield
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Chowder, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: We offer Counter-Service style dining. Fish & Chips, Hot Lobster Rolls and fresh made New England Clam Chowder are our specialties. There is beer and wine available for purchase in our dining room. We have a full-line of fresh fish and shellfish items available at our Retail Counter...including Live Lobsters!
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lobster Roll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I visited this restaurant for the first time yesterday noon while visiting a friend in Glastonbury. It was her suggestion. A great suggestion! Living in New England, we have the luxury of sampling lobster rolls at many venues, both small and large. Although this inland version of a seaside food emporium can be very busy, it is well worth the wait. As one waits in line to place an order in this actual seafood store, the large saltwater tubs are readily visible and display lobsters of all sizes available for purchase. Fried clams - whole or strip - are also offered along with many other choices. To complement your order, you may select french fries (enormous!) or chowder (We did - delicious and chock full of fresh clams!) among other "sides." The fresh, hot lobster roll is served either with or without "salad" filler. Either way, this is probably the best lobster roll I have enjoyed in quite a while! The adjoining restaurant area is self-serve but clean and comfortable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

City fish is the place to go for a variety of fresh fish. Also is included are a limited selection of cooked to order fish dinner that you may take out or sit in thier informal dinning area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for FRESH seafood dinners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

City Fish offers amazing fresh seafood to dine in or take out.
There hours are on the brief side, and the dining in is 'self serve' for the most part, but
the BEST part is the food. The fish and chips are crispy and NOT AT ALL greasy! The fries are tasty and the coleslaw is FRESHLY MADE and delicious!!
The lobster rolls are meaty and packed full.
All around anything you choose here is quality!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Expereince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a great experience getting fish for the holiday weekend. People were great and very helpful. Fish was very fresh and the clams outstanding.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury Ct
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“You would be hard pressed to find fresher fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I stopped by to check the place out for lunch. This is a busy place and do a big take out business plus those who chose to eat inside keep the seats filled! You go into what seems like a fish warehouse(that is exactly what it is!) and order your meal at counter. They serve meals up in boxes and bag them,then you can take out or step up to a comfortable dining room and eat in. Enroute to dining room you pass fish store with an amazing array of fresh fish. I have never seen a fishmonger like it in Ct!! In the dining room there is table service. For wine, beer and water-no tipping required. My husband had the fried oysters and chips and I had the whole bellied fried clams and chips. Both the oysters and clams tasted very fresh and delicious and the portion was good. I would have preferred another choice for the fries as I try to steer clear of them and left mine....cole slaw perhaps or small salad? The lady who served our waters was very pleasant and had worked there for 32 years! Clearly those eating around us had been there before and were repeat customers! For us having this fresh fried non greasy seafood was a treat..not fine dining but darn good food. Also when I checked out the fresh fish counter I saw the swordfish which looked particularly good so on the way out I bought a nice one pound plus piece for our dinner. it was one of the best swordfish I have ever cooked! So a double delicious fish whammy for us. The place is unique for sure,the fish could not be fresher or better and prices are fair. Do try City Fish once and check out the fresh fish huge counter and take some home to try as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to City Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.