We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1830 house in middle of historic village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Williamsburg, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“1830 house in middle of historic village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Attractive house in historic village not far from Hartford, where we toured the Mark Twain and Harriet Beecher Stowe houses. Wethersfield is lovely town in which to walk around, looking at the old houses. Innkeeper served delicious, beautifully presented breakfasts in a dining room with fireplace and candle sconces. Our upstairs bedroom adjoined a sitting area where we could read and watch TV.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This bed and breakfast is in a historic house which is furnished with nice antiques, but overdone with potpourri and decorative objects that did not enhance the B&B's charm or comfort value.

The innkeeper was polite and businesslike--he ran our credit card and took our bags to the room, but didn't offer any refreshment (despite the fact that the room has no coffee or tea-making equipment) or conversation relating to the history of the house or town. He disappeared without letting us know if there was wi-fi or TV anywhere (none in room); or what rooms in the house were for public use (confusing because on the second floor is a landing with a few stairs up and over to what looks like another parlor, but we were hesitant to intrude); or how to find him if we needed anything.

The room was clean and nicely furnished, but a bit chilly and the mattress was not very comfortable. No hairdryer--I suppose you had to request one.

There was no choice for breakfast, which was juice and a muffin followed by his signature dish of french toast--not enjoyable as he had poured a ton of syrup over it. No bacon or sausage, just a complete carbohydrate overload!

In short, I can't recommend any type of lodging where one feels like an aside to its operation, nor a nonverbal innkeeper who does not offer the warmth and personal service that is normally expected from a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

An authentic 1830's house lovingly maintained and decorated with Victorian antiques - beautiful, and very romantic. Comfortable bed. Small private bathroom with a comfortable shower. (Don't expect large bathrooms in a house this old - I'm surprised they can shoehorn bathrooms in at all. Floors sag a little, also due to the age of the house.) No TV, but with so much to do in old Wethersfield, we didn't miss it.
The host is a very nice man, not terribly chatty, but helpful and friendly in an unobtrusive way. He makes a delicious breakfast!
This B&B is a bargain to be in such a great location. It's directly across the street from the Webb-Deans-Stevens House Museums (THE attraction in Wethersfield) and close to the Buttolph-Williams House. It's also close to some very lively restaurants with very good food. If you're on a really tight budget, the rooms with a shared bath go for much less than the private-bath rooms. Private off-street parking is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here twice, in August 2007 and August 2008 (I did not write a review at those times as I was not familiar with trip advisor then) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves both times. Tom went out of his way to accommodate our special check-in times and greeted us with a warm welcome at check in and a delicious breakfast the next morning of each of our stays. We stayed in a spacious room the first time, in a corner of the house with lots of light. The second time, we were in a smaller room -- picked by choice -- but also in a corner with lots of light. We had a hall bath each time, which never posed a problem as we stayed on uncrowded nights, but I could see where some guests would want to make sure they had a private bath.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed one night in this lovely, historic inn and enjoyed our stay. Located right in old historic Wethersfield, it was convenient to seeing the historic houses and museums located here. Across the street is located the Webb-Deane-Stevens Museum, consisting of three 18th century homes nicely preserved. Also in walking distance is the Comstock Ferre Garden nursery, a great ice cream shop and other historical sites. It is a short drive to Hartford and close to I-91. We had nicely prepared breakfast by the inn keeper. The inn keeper is the quiet type (not opinionated or chatty) who leaves you alone unless you ask questions. Being an old inn the rooms do have uneven floors so may not be suitable to people with disabilities. Also the rooms don't have TVs or wireless internet which many B&Bs are starting to offer.

  • Liked — Location in historic district, close to Hartford
  • Disliked — Lack of TV and wireless internet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2005

I had a very pleasant 3-day stay at the Bulkley House. The breakfasts were hearty and well-prepared -- french toast, omelette, pancakes. The owners were friendly and the house is beautifully decorated. I'll be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2003

The innkeepers were very unfriendly. They made myself and the folks we were with (we booked a number of rooms for two nights) completely unwelcome. There was no afternoon tea as they claimed and they overcharged us. The food was mediocre.I am a huge fan of bed and breakfasts and thought this would be a lovely place to get together, instead they made us feel like intruders.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival bed-and-breakfast built in 1830 located just outside the city of Hartford, CT. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.