We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Home in the Heart of Historic Wethersfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Home in the Heart of Historic Wethersfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here twice, in August 2007 and August 2008 (I did not write a review at those times as I was not familiar with trip advisor then) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves both times. Tom went out of his way to accommodate our special check-in times and greeted us with a warm welcome at check in and a delicious breakfast the next morning of each of our stays. We stayed in a spacious room the first time, in a corner of the house with lots of light. The second time, we were in a smaller room -- picked by choice -- but also in a corner with lots of light. We had a hall bath each time, which never posed a problem as we stayed on uncrowded nights, but I could see where some guests would want to make sure they had a private bath.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed one night in this lovely, historic inn and enjoyed our stay. Located right in old historic Wethersfield, it was convenient to seeing the historic houses and museums located here. Across the street is located the Webb-Deane-Stevens Museum, consisting of three 18th century homes nicely preserved. Also in walking distance is the Comstock Ferre Garden nursery, a great ice cream shop and other historical sites. It is a short drive to Hartford and close to I-91. We had nicely prepared breakfast by the inn keeper. The inn keeper is the quiet type (not opinionated or chatty) who leaves you alone unless you ask questions. Being an old inn the rooms do have uneven floors so may not be suitable to people with disabilities. Also the rooms don't have TVs or wireless internet which many B&Bs are starting to offer.

  • Liked — Location in historic district, close to Hartford
  • Disliked — Lack of TV and wireless internet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2005

I had a very pleasant 3-day stay at the Bulkley House. The breakfasts were hearty and well-prepared -- french toast, omelette, pancakes. The owners were friendly and the house is beautifully decorated. I'll be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2003

The innkeepers were very unfriendly. They made myself and the folks we were with (we booked a number of rooms for two nights) completely unwelcome. There was no afternoon tea as they claimed and they overcharged us. The food was mediocre.I am a huge fan of bed and breakfasts and thought this would be a lovely place to get together, instead they made us feel like intruders.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wethersfield
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield-Hartford
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford South-Glastonbury
4.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#3 of 10 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival bed-and-breakfast built in 1830 located just outside the city of Hartford, CT. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.