We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Home in the Heart of Historic Wethersfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast
184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Home in the Heart of Historic Wethersfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here twice, in August 2007 and August 2008 (I did not write a review at those times as I was not familiar with trip advisor then) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves both times. Tom went out of his way to accommodate our special check-in times and greeted us with a warm welcome at check in and a delicious breakfast the next morning of each of our stays. We stayed in a spacious room the first time, in a corner of the house with lots of light. The second time, we were in a smaller room -- picked by choice -- but also in a corner with lots of light. We had a hall bath each time, which never posed a problem as we stayed on uncrowded nights, but I could see where some guests would want to make sure they had a private bath.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed one night in this lovely, historic inn and enjoyed our stay. Located right in old historic Wethersfield, it was convenient to seeing the historic houses and museums located here. Across the street is located the Webb-Deane-Stevens Museum, consisting of three 18th century homes nicely preserved. Also in walking distance is the Comstock Ferre Garden nursery, a great ice cream shop and other historical sites. It is a short drive to Hartford and close to I-91. We had nicely prepared breakfast by the inn keeper. The inn keeper is the quiet type (not opinionated or chatty) who leaves you alone unless you ask questions. Being an old inn the rooms do have uneven floors so may not be suitable to people with disabilities. Also the rooms don't have TVs or wireless internet which many B&Bs are starting to offer.

  • Liked — Location in historic district, close to Hartford
  • Disliked — Lack of TV and wireless internet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2005

I had a very pleasant 3-day stay at the Bulkley House. The breakfasts were hearty and well-prepared -- french toast, omelette, pancakes. The owners were friendly and the house is beautifully decorated. I'll be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2003

The innkeepers were very unfriendly. They made myself and the folks we were with (we booked a number of rooms for two nights) completely unwelcome. There was no afternoon tea as they claimed and they overcharged us. The food was mediocre.I am a huge fan of bed and breakfasts and thought this would be a lovely place to get together, instead they made us feel like intruders.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival bed-and-breakfast built in 1830 located just outside the city of Hartford, CT. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list