We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines 2012” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast
184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Valentines 2012”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked a room here thinking we would have a romantic get away before my surgery. It was booked site unseen off the internet. We were hoping for a fireplace and bathtub in our room, but there was nothing like that in our room. The bathroom had a standup shower. It was very dusty & drafty in the room. We frequent many B&B and have always had a good experience. However, from the very beginning we did not feel Tom the Innkeeper was very friendly. We were the only party in the whole Inn. When we arrived for our reservation, we found the Inn to be locked. We had to ring the doorbell. A gentleman, who did not introduce himself, opened the door. He wisked us to the dining room area where he requested full payment. He then briskly showed us directly to our room and disappeared. He did not show us any of the sitting rooms or around the Inn at all. After seeing our room, we were not pleased with the accomodations and wanted to leave. We first asked if any of the other rooms offered the anemities we had desired, and he said no. We told him it was not the experience we were hoping for and wanted to cancel, he refused. He would not honor that request, though we had been there less than 15 mins. He did not even try to satisfy or appease us. So we tried to make the best of the night since he already ran our credit card Later before bed, I had to again search for him to request an extra pillow, blanket (it was really drafty)and wash cloth and his response was less than accomodating.You would have thought I had three heads. He would not give me an additional pillow, so we slept on the shammed ones, the blanket he pulled from a musty closet and it was thin and he stuffed a washcloth in my hand. Very very poor experience. I will not return and have shared my displeasure with as many people as I could. Breakfast was the only tasty part of the visit, but hardly worth the money. We have spent three times the amount on past B&B and have had a wonderful personable experience. It left a bad taste in our mouths for sure. He had the opportunity to make it a good experience and failed. I would not recommend staying there. There are so many more beautiful places with Innkeepers that want you to enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: Dont do it!!!! See the room BEFORE paying to make sure you are pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I've stayed in several B&B's around the Northeast, and my wife and I continue to return to the Chester Bulkley House. It has become a second home to us. Everything from its location in beautiful historic Wethersfield to its period furnishings to Tom's amazing breakfasts and his excellent hostmanship woo us back time after time. We have never had a bad experience. Tom goes out of his way to assure us a memorable visit each and every time.

Room Tip: Book rooms in advance (just like any place where there is demand) so you get the room that's rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The B & B was very conveniently located for walking around the historic area of Wethersfield. We stayed there for two nights. The air conditioning made the room comfortable and the bathroom was clean, though small. Unfortunately I could not plug my hair dryer in in the bathroom but had to use it in the bedroom. A chair in the bedroom was horribly lumpy and uncomfortable. It should have been discarded years ago. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The cheese omelet for breakfast was delicious but the french toast was drowning in syrup and much too sweet. The breakfast was fine but there was no choice of juice. The price was much cheaper than the other B & B in town so that was a plus. The owner is polite but certainly is not talkative. He does not offer advice on things to see, places to eat etc. and you only see him at breakfast times but he is pleasant and answers questions easily.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Attractive house in historic village not far from Hartford, where we toured the Mark Twain and Harriet Beecher Stowe houses. Wethersfield is lovely town in which to walk around, looking at the old houses. Innkeeper served delicious, beautifully presented breakfasts in a dining room with fireplace and candle sconces. Our upstairs bedroom adjoined a sitting area where we could read and watch TV.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This bed and breakfast is in a historic house which is furnished with nice antiques, but overdone with potpourri and decorative objects that did not enhance the B&B's charm or comfort value.

The innkeeper was polite and businesslike--he ran our credit card and took our bags to the room, but didn't offer any refreshment (despite the fact that the room has no coffee or tea-making equipment) or conversation relating to the history of the house or town. He disappeared without letting us know if there was wi-fi or TV anywhere (none in room); or what rooms in the house were for public use (confusing because on the second floor is a landing with a few stairs up and over to what looks like another parlor, but we were hesitant to intrude); or how to find him if we needed anything.

The room was clean and nicely furnished, but a bit chilly and the mattress was not very comfortable. No hairdryer--I suppose you had to request one.

There was no choice for breakfast, which was juice and a muffin followed by his signature dish of french toast--not enjoyable as he had poured a ton of syrup over it. No bacon or sausage, just a complete carbohydrate overload!

In short, I can't recommend any type of lodging where one feels like an aside to its operation, nor a nonverbal innkeeper who does not offer the warmth and personal service that is normally expected from a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

An authentic 1830's house lovingly maintained and decorated with Victorian antiques - beautiful, and very romantic. Comfortable bed. Small private bathroom with a comfortable shower. (Don't expect large bathrooms in a house this old - I'm surprised they can shoehorn bathrooms in at all. Floors sag a little, also due to the age of the house.) No TV, but with so much to do in old Wethersfield, we didn't miss it.
The host is a very nice man, not terribly chatty, but helpful and friendly in an unobtrusive way. He makes a delicious breakfast!
This B&B is a bargain to be in such a great location. It's directly across the street from the Webb-Deans-Stevens House Museums (THE attraction in Wethersfield) and close to the Buttolph-Williams House. It's also close to some very lively restaurants with very good food. If you're on a really tight budget, the rooms with a shared bath go for much less than the private-bath rooms. Private off-street parking is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here twice, in August 2007 and August 2008 (I did not write a review at those times as I was not familiar with trip advisor then) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves both times. Tom went out of his way to accommodate our special check-in times and greeted us with a warm welcome at check in and a delicious breakfast the next morning of each of our stays. We stayed in a spacious room the first time, in a corner of the house with lots of light. The second time, we were in a smaller room -- picked by choice -- but also in a corner with lots of light. We had a hall bath each time, which never posed a problem as we stayed on uncrowded nights, but I could see where some guests would want to make sure they had a private bath.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Main Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival bed-and-breakfast built in 1830 located just outside the city of Hartford, CT. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list