We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious view ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rive Bistro

Rive Bistro
299 Riverside Ave, Westport, CT 06880
+1 203-557-8049
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rive Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 141 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
CT
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Glorious view ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hubby and I took our yearly run to Gilberties and found this beautiful French Bistro on the river. We were greeted by who seemed to be the owner and sat outside. Service excellent Food very nice and well priced. Many choices. Hubby had tuna burger I had grilled artichoke salad delicious! Great lunch pleasant & beautiful location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, ok service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This restaurant is located on the saugatuck river. Most seats have a view of the water. There is also a nice outdoor seating area. The food was very good, just the portions were a little small. The service was a average. I had to ask for bread and it took awhile to get an the restaurant was not that busy. Overall, this is a nice restaurant and we will most likely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Romantic Evening on the Westport "Seine"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

As a transplant from NY and Philadelphia, we are looking for new restaurants in our area. Looked for a romantic way to spend our Anniversary. This fit the bill well. Charming spot right on the inlet that flows in and out of Westport. Busy but not overcrowded for a later reservation. Great looking bar in front, that spills into a larger two leveled dining room, with large picture windows. We were seated immediately for our reservation by two friendly hostesses at the front. They were very sweet and made sure we had a table we would love. Our table for two was literally on the dock, where we could watch the sun go down and ducks and various water fowl puddle along. Service was good - friendly and polite but not overly so. While the food did take a while, when it did come they always made sure we had everything we needed. The french onion soup was good with a lovely sherry base nice toasted cheese crust all over top. Spouse had the tomato, cucumber feta salad, which was surprisingly disappointing. Tomatoes were mealy and the salad swam in about an inch, I kid you not, of oily dressing. So that was hard to eat. But my spouse never complains, as he doesn't want to cause issues. Our entrees - steak frites for me, which was cooked as ordered. Fries were amazing in a little tin fry basket. Spouse had the chicken, that was quite good with a delicious polenta we shared. Enjoyed chocolate mousse cake for dessert but would have loved it if they had more than one berry. We liked that no one rushed us to finish our meal, since we were literally the last table on the patio. Couldn't do enough for us. Overall we would recommend this for couples and those who love traditional french fare - people around us seemed to enjoy the escargots and other delectable ideas. A nice romantic evening without a lot of noise, crowding etc. Other spots have been disappointing..but this was exactly as advertised. Would go back again, especially to enjoy a nice glass of wine at the bar and perhaps a cheese plate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Food, service, free parking - all very good. We had the mini lobster rolls and the French fries, while others had shrimp and burgers. All done to order - very good. The view of the river was as good as it gets. What is missing is any feeling, beside the menu, that made you think of France.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Connecticut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is our favorite restaurant in Connecticut, we visit regularly and we are so pleased that the Chef is French, and you can definitely tell that he is a Chef and not a cook!! The Lamb meatballs are very nice, the steak frites, the best i ever had, the sea scallops, the moule frites..so nice.
The atmosphere, the deco and the location by the river are just incredible. i am recommending it to all my friends. thank you the Rive bistro for your hard work and to make our visits so special and enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rive Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rive Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rive Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.