We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old standby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Clam House

Mansion Clam House
541 Riverside Avenue, Westport, CT 06880
203-557-4811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 141 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Old standby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small and cozy, great fresh seafood...mostly fried dishes e en in winter ithink odsummer when i sit there...good service always

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited this restaurant twice on my last visit to CT; and you always wonder if you'll be disappointed when you return with your mouth watering for something -- in my case, their lobster roll. Fantastic! As was their lobster bisque and cheese cake.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“classic new england”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

tasty, fresh, simple seafood delivered in a cozy, relaxed environment. classic new england charm. i like this place a lot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Game for Miles Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Despite its location on Long Island Sound has a dearth of good seafood restaurants so for our money after trying most of them Mansion Clam House is the best around. While the place is not elegant the seafood is fresh and good and the service is quick and attentive. Go for the steamers and the fried clams.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Service and food leaves us smiling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Service was excellent, and Joe got us a table reserved before we arrived and we had called 20-30 minutes ahead. The food was delicious: one pound lobster, Maine steamers, mixed green salad, New England clam chowder, broiled scrod, crab cakes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion Clam House also viewed

 

Been to Mansion Clam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Clam House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.